PDA

View Full Version : replacing liquid smoke generator lionel 027 engine

Millbury
12-10-2008, 08:36 PM
Hello,

I am new to the model train arena. I purchased a Lionel 027 scale New York Central for my son several years ago. He just now is old enough to enjoy it. The other day, the smoke stopped coming out. I think I burned the unit up trying to get more smoke out of it. Sometimes I am more like Tim Taylor than I want to admit.

My question is, is it difficult to replace the smoke generator on this model, or is there a different suggestion to what my be the cause of this problem? I did purchase new liquid smoke since it stopped but that did not solve the problem.

Any and all assistance and suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks.

Boston&Maine
12-10-2008, 08:46 PM
Welcome to the forum... Before anyone can help we will need the model number of the locomotive... Do you have it?

Millbury
12-10-2008, 10:15 PM
Is that the 4-4-2 number?

Southern
12-10-2008, 11:09 PM
Quick fix....maybe.

Is it possable the it is over filled? The somke gerator will not work if over filled.

Boston&Maine
12-11-2008, 06:11 AM
Is that the 4-4-2 number?

That sounds like either the wheel arrangement or the engine number... The product number would be on the box only, if you still have that... If you do not, try getting a picture of the locomotive up here :)

Quick fix....maybe.

Is it possable the it is over filled? The somke gerator will not work if over filled.

That is quite possible, yes...

Boston&Maine
12-11-2008, 07:58 AM
Is this your locomotive? It is from the 2006 catalog, so I think this may be too new... This is item number 6-28694...

------------------------------

http://www.lionel.com/products/ProductNavigator/_ProductImages_590/6-28694_3556.jpg

New York Central 4-4-2 Steam Locomotive
Every railroad needs a strong stable of iron horses. Built of tough die-cast metal, the classic 4-4-2 is now available in Western Maryland fireball livery.

ADDITIONAL FEATURES: