Curiosity Question about road numbers. - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > The Right of Way > North America
Forgotten your password?

North America Discuss Canadian and American Prototype railways.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2016, 10:51 PM   #1
HO LOVER
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bronx
Posts: 101
Curiosity Question about road numbers.

Would a company order more than 1 engine in the same road number? Just Curious about that. Thanks.
HO LOVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2016, 12:04 AM   #2
Magic
Dispatcher
 
Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Reno Nv.
Posts: 1,123
Scales Modeled: HO
No.
They may reuse an old number but wouldn't order two with the same number.
The road number is like the license plate on your car.

Magic
__________________
The Magic RR build thread.
New layout starts at page 7.
http://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=22525
Magic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 06:28 AM   #3
HO LOVER
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bronx
Posts: 101
Ah, got ya. Cool, thanks for the response. Good stuff to know.
HO LOVER is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-17-2016, 01:27 PM   #4
Old_Hobo
Station Master
 
Old_Hobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 4,004
Scales Modeled: HO (also a little N & O)
Further to that, I don't think the railroads order the locomotives already numbered.......the numbers are assigned and applied in the railroads own shops......but I could be mistaken.....
__________________
Remember, we are all unique.....just like everybody else.......
Old_Hobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:47 PM   #5
1905dave
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Omaha
Posts: 49
Railroads will not have more than one engine with the same INITIALS and number. As a result of mergers a railroad could end up with more than one engine with the same number but different initials (UP 1234 and CNW 1234).

They may order engines with the same numbers but will renumber one of them (UP had 4-8-4 844, but ordered a series of GP30's in the 800's, so had to renumber the steamer to 8444 to make way for the GP30 844).

Engines do come factory painted with numbers, the railroad tells the manufacturer all the painting and lettering specifications, even the numbering.
1905dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.