Newbie G-Scale Questions - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > G / #1 Scale
Forgotten your password?

G / #1 Scale Marklin, Aristocraft, USA Trains, LGB model train discussion, indoor and outdoor.

Old 12-16-2016, 02:43 AM   #1
sgav8r
Hobo

Newbie G-Scale Questions

Ok I'm totally new to the model train world. Granted I had a pretty big collection of Lionel O-scale stuff when I was a kid and I remember it very vividly. Pretty much ran that system in to the trash heap!

Now, 30 years later I have a family of my own and this season I decided (on a whim) to add a train under the tree. So I snagged this cheap plastic battery operated set at my local big box retailer. Something exactly like this: https://www.amazon.com/Eztec-37260-S.../dp/B0064IQ1BY. It was only about 40 bux and heck, it's fun. My little boy LOVES it!

But...now that I've been playing with this thing I've been googling all sorts of other train sets. I've decided I really want a "good quality" set for next year! I'm pretty convinced G-Scale is the way to go. I love the size for under the tree. I researched several Bachmann sets and they seem quite nice! However, I keep coming back to the LGB sets (LGB 72302 to be exact). I've never ran one, or even seen one run in person, but to me those LGB trains seem like the way to go. Am I right? They just look like a quality, well built product.