Converting 1976 flying Scotsman to DCC - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > OO Scale
Forgotten your password?

OO Scale Airfix, Bachmann Branchline, Peco, Dapol, Lima, Kitmaster and all other OO scale discussions here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2016, 11:52 PM   #11
..TrainMaster..
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wellington
Posts: 31
Ok... very minor issue... which I will get to soon. First up, I have disconnected the + wire leading to the wheel pick ups ( and yes there is only one) and soldered that wire to to the red wire of my hornby 4 function decoder. Soldered the orange/bronze wire to the right hand brush terminal. And the Grey wire to the left hand brush terminal. That leaves me with the black return wire for the right hand rail and a blue common v+ wire. Now here lies my issue. This locomotive has no return lead that would normally go to the negative side of the track. The motor would normally earth through the motor casing. So... what should I do now?
..TrainMaster.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2016, 02:53 AM   #12
..TrainMaster..
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wellington
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cycleops View Post
That's a good tip of Don's about checking for any shorts before putting it on a powered track. It's to check the motor connections to the decoder are not touching anything else and the motor is properly isolated. Let us know how you get on. Btw you'll need some small diameter heatshrink to insulate the connections. Mount the decoder on a piece of double sided foam tape.
I wonder if I could get away with making a homemade copper pick up for the absence left hand one. According to my research the hornby x03 motors never had a return line on that make of motor. They all earth on the motor frame. Cause I need a return line to complete the decode installation
..TrainMaster.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 03:19 AM   #13
Cycleops
Dispatcher
 
Cycleops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Accra
Posts: 2,397
Sounds like you'll need to make a pick up for the left (black) pick up, mount it somehow and insulate it. If you've insulated the spring that holds the brushes that should be ok.

The blue common wire is for lighting, as is the white and yellow.
Cycleops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 10:40 AM   #14
DonR
Yard Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 6,147
I think you are saying the the 'black' or left rail electric
contact was through the wheels to the loco frame. If that
is the case simply attach the decoder 'return' to the
frame. Just be sure that none of the motor tabs make
contact with the frame. There may be a screw into
the frame that you could use to secure the wire.

My older Bachmann GP30 uses a split cast metal frame that
was the conduit for both left and right rail current. I made
a plastic 'wedge' with the decoder input wires on either side
pressed against the frames. It works perfectly with no
loss of power.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 11:29 AM   #15
Cycleops
Dispatcher
 
Cycleops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Accra
Posts: 2,397
The left side pick up runs through the frame and contacts the motor in DC mode. I always understood the golden rule was to isolate the motor otherwise shorts could occur. It is not a split frame like the Bachmanns of old. My old Atlas has a similar arrangement where one of the contacts ran through the motor frame, it needed isolating and the running straight to the motor.
Cycleops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 04:15 PM   #16
DonR
Yard Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 6,147
Cycleops

You are right, the motor should be totally isolated from the frame.
What I was saying was how to use the frame for the 'return' side
of the Decoder input. The frame is electrically a part of the left
rail on this loco from what he said,
so I'm saying use that for the decoder return and not have to go to
the bother of adding wipers to the left rail wheels.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 07:19 PM   #17
..TrainMaster..
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wellington
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
Cycleops

You are right, the motor should be totally isolated from the frame.
What I was saying was how to use the frame for the 'return' side
of the Decoder input. The frame is electrically a part of the left
rail on this loco from what he said,
so I'm saying use that for the decoder return and not have to go to
the bother of adding wipers to the left rail wheels.

Don
Sweet. I'll make this change and then do an ohms test then let her flying
..TrainMaster.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 04:31 AM   #18
Cycleops
Dispatcher
 
Cycleops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Accra
Posts: 2,397
Let us know how it goes.
Cycleops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 04:49 AM   #19
..TrainMaster..
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wellington
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cycleops View Post
Let us know how it goes.
All wired up. Runs fine on the DC track. Now I need to give her a run on dcc track set up
..TrainMaster.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 02:06 PM   #20
Cycleops
Dispatcher
 
Cycleops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Accra
Posts: 2,397
I cant stand the tension! Let us know as soon as poss!
Cycleops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.