MY NEW INTEREST: EUROPEAN TRAINS - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > OO Scale
Forgotten your password?

OO Scale Airfix, Bachmann Branchline, Peco, Dapol, Lima, Kitmaster and all other OO scale discussions here.

Old 08-23-2016, 11:40 PM   #1
time warp
Dispatcher

Scales Modeled: Old School HO and British OO
MY NEW INTEREST: EUROPEAN TRAINS

I've been an HO modeler for a LOOOOOOOng time, pretty well content with it. But many years ago my interest in British railways was piqued by seeing, of all things, Derek Carter's "Tales from Turkey Bay" cartoon series in RMC and a column in MR I think, of a British prototype steam engine being imported at the time by Chester Holley.
That locomotive was a Triang BR M7. How odd it looked to me compared to U.S. stuff. The strange 0-4-4 wheel arrangement and the massive hook and loop couplers were so different from what I was used to ,and I had never seen European trains in person so it was hard for me to imagine running one with my equipment. Plus,in 1982 where would I get one?
Fast forward to a few months ago. I saw an interesting British locomotive listed for sale on this forum, and through some dealing with my now friend Wolferz, I had the beginnings of a OO collection. That's how I got the LMS train.

compound train.jpg

An LMS compound 4-4-0 and 3 coaches with passengers, Beautiful! Runs very nicely. Hornby with Tender drive, Coaches are Bachmann. A little too much train for our little layout!
So here we go! Bug Bite. I then stumbled across a British Railways (BR) 2-6-0 "Ivatt" at an Antique mall and struck a deal.
Neat locomotive that reminds me of a Pensylvania G5, and it runs very well. It runs along kind of slowly and has a nice gait. A real joy to behold. And naturally there had to be some goods wagons.

ivatt running.jpg

wagons.jpg