DCC vs DCS Confusion - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.

Old 06-05-2012, 01:27 PM   #1
alroz
Hobo

DCC vs DCS Confusion

Hi All,

I have a question regarding DCC. I have an MTH freight set and that I am considering purchasing the Digitrax ZEPX Zephyr Xtra. Is this unit a decoder
so to speak in itself? Or is this is a separate subject matter?
I read articles about decoding your engine Etc. What is occurring here?
Any input would be appreciated.
By the way, this is a down the road consideration since I am new to the hobby however; wanted to be prepared and get us much knowledge on these areas as possible.
Thanks,

AlRoz
alroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 01:49 PM   #2
Brakeman Jake
Engineer

Scales Modeled: N scale
Send a message via MSN to Brakeman Jake
The Zephyr Extra is Digitraxx's basic DCC system that powers the layout (track current mixed with a digital signal) wich,by the way,is enough for most small layouts.It serves a dual purpose,it supplies the energy to drive the loco and the digital portion controls how the loco behaves (direction,speed,lights and sounds in some dases).

Then,every loco that you want DCC controlled needs an onboard decoder wich reads the digital signal and translates it in whatever movement desired and at the same time can control independent functions like lights,sounds,etc.With DCC,you can have the loco turn its lights on,blow the whistle and sound an idling engine,etc without moving.
Brakeman Jake is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
manchesterjim
Conductor

Scales Modeled: HO
Send a message via Skype™ to manchesterjim
Quote:
Originally Posted by alroz View Post
Hi All,

I have a question regarding DCC.