Lionel KW transformer - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 09:15 AM   #1
c6vette
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wantagh L.I. NY
Posts: 5
Lionel KW transformer

I just picked up a KW transformer but no user manual. One question, the red light on the unit, is that an overload light or a light to indicate the unit is on? Any help would be appreciated.
Al
c6vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:16 PM   #2
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 21,355
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
The red light is an overload light, so it's a good thing it's not on!

I suggest checking the rollers before using it, if they're worn down to the arms, moving the controls will score the windings and quickly ruin the transformer. They're one of the most common maintenance items. The other thing I'd look closely at it the power cord, they frequently need to be replaced because the old cord is brittle.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:24 PM   #3
c6vette
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wantagh L.I. NY
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
The red light is an overload light, so it's a good thing it's not on!

I suggest checking the rollers before using it, if they're worn down to the arms, moving the controls will score the windings and quickly ruin the transformer. They're one of the most common maintenance items. The other thing I'd look closely at it the power cord, they frequently need to be replaced because the old cord is brittle.
Thanks for the quick reply. You were right on re: the power cord. Cord is in good shape but had to change the plug just a few minutes ago. No AC was getting to the TF.

Not sure what rollers are. I assume I can get to them when I pull the cover off( done that already, no problem) Are the rollers replaceable? If so where can I get them.
c6vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:06 PM   #4
Hellgate
Engineer
 
Hellgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lake Hopatcong NJ
Posts: 572
Scales Modeled: O and Standard
The rollers are replaceable although they might be riveted in. Either you can rivet them in place or just crimp the end of the rod so it doesn't pull through. You can get them at your local hobby shop or just type in "Lionel KW rollers" on Ebay. Hopefully your hobby shop will sell them to you at a reasonable price.
Hellgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:50 AM   #5
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 21,355
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
I get my rollers from The Train Tender, Jeff has very reasonable prices and quick delivery.

The way to replace them is to crush the old ones with a pair of needle nose pliers, then cut the rivet in the center with a Dremel cut-off wheel.

Make sure you don't try to bend the holder on the end of the arm, they are tempered and will break. I replace the rollers right in the transformer. It's a bit tight, but a lot easier than doing a major disassemble. For the new rivets, I just crush the hollow end to hold them in place.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:37 PM   #6
c6vette
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wantagh L.I. NY
Posts: 5
Want to thank all for your help. Learned a lot in a short time. My rollers were almost gone, but no damage to the coil yet. Will replace. The forum members saved me a future costly repair.
c6vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:40 PM   #7
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 21,355
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
Whenever someone mentions a new (old) PW transformer, that's one of the things on the checklist. Another problem spot, also easily fixed, is the binding posts. Sometimes the cheap crimps give out, you can also get replacement posts from the same source as above, and they are easy to install. Just used up my last bunch on a new (old) ZW, so I'm due to make an order.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:12 AM   #8
trainguru
Engineer
 
trainguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 861
Scales Modeled: HO, OO, and S & O at Christmas :p
Shouldn't this be in "O-Scale"?
__________________
Yes I know my Avatar is the M.S. Kalakala; she was an SF Key System Interurban boat before. I'm awsome like that! May the Lord bless you!

"Ayeeeee!!!" - says The Fonz

trainguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:00 AM   #9
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 21,355
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
Yep, I moved it to O-scale.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 10:27 AM   #10
old464
Conductor
 
old464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: greensburg pa
Posts: 318
Scales Modeled: o scale
he should change out the breaker also to a modern type. heck take it to a hobby shop for an overhaul. cord, breakers rollers, etc.
chris
old464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum