How many cars can my lionel train pull - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.

Old 10-23-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
Alundrell
Hobo

How many cars can my lionel train pull

I'm fairly new to the model train hobby, a couple years I got a Pennsylvania flyer train set for Christmas, I also have been collecting the new Hershey commemorative rolling stock, I have 10 of the Hershey cars and the 3 that came with the set, my layout is a 4x8 oval with a siding and a disconnect piece, enough for 5 cars. I would like to expand in the future but not sure what I need. I know there are 5 more Hershey cars out that I want to get but I don't think my engine will be able to pull that much, and I don't know if ill need a mor powerful transformer either the one I have is the cw-80. If any one can advise be on where to go from here that would be great! Any recommendations on more powerful engines would be good too cuz I don't know much about them, I like steamers but a desil would be cool too but I'd like to keep the Pennsylvania theme. I did see a Bachman desil that was a PA and it was a chocolate brown color perfect for a Hershey train! Will a Bachman engine work on lionel fastrack, with a lionel cw-80 transformer?
Alundrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
Alundrell
Hobo

Here is the link to te engine that I was thinking about getting, however I don't know much about train specks so I don't know if it will work with what I have and pull what I want it to pull

http://www.wholesaletrains.com/Detail.asp?ID=200509271
Old 10-23-2012, 06:55 PM   #3
gunrunnerjohn
Admin

Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail