Digitrax DCS - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 01:07 PM   #1
JerryH
Conductor
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 456
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 17
Digitrax DCS

Got a new SCFXD8 and guess what? The DCS200 doesn't work. Many beep codes on power up. DC pwr in is 16.2 v with no current draw. 1 second blinking config LED. Power LED steady green. Net LED steady on. Offline LED steady on. Settles in with continous soft beeps. CMOS battery checks 3.07 v. Connected throttle in op mode and sw 2 is c and should be t. Can't get it to stay on t. Throttle appears to communicate with DCS. Any ideas?

Last edited by JerryH; 12-25-2012 at 03:35 PM.
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 02:26 PM   #2
waltr
Conductor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SE PA
Posts: 466
Scales Modeled: HO, HOn3
What is a "SCXFD8"? DigiTrax web site could not find this number.
waltr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 03:12 PM   #3
JerryH
Conductor
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 456
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 17
starter set
SCFXD8 Super Chief Xtra 8 Amp Duplex Radio Equipped
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
NIMT
Yard Master
 
NIMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Three rocks south of the Sun
Posts: 5,518
Images: 35
Jerry,
I've gotta run for dinner but I'll be back shortly and I can walk you threw it.
Count the number of beeps on powerup.
__________________
http://www.northidahomodeltrains.com
NIMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 04:27 PM   #5
JerryH
Conductor
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 456
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 17
If the beeps are supposed to sound like a computer posting, they are sick too. More like a buzzer the a beep. There seems to be a series of errors or repeating errors then it settles to a constant low volume beeps. It is quite difficult to count them. A combination of low and higher volume tones.
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:21 PM   #6
Southern
Schizophrenic Engineer
 
Southern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Carolina USA
Posts: 2,982
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryH View Post
If the beeps are supposed to sound like a computer posting, they are sick too. More like a buzzer the a beep.

They should sound like a buzzing chirp. You should be able to count them. What dose the DCS 200 do with out anything hooked up to it?
__________________
I still stop and watch trains go by.
Southern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:25 PM   #7
JerryH
Conductor
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 456
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 17
I don,t have the program or rail outputs hooked up. I was going by the step by step instructions in the manual.
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:33 PM   #8
JerryH
Conductor
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 456
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 17
The initial error code is 6 beeps indicating another command station but there is none. The is no loconet attached either. A buzzing chirp seems to be an accurate description of the beep tones.
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:43 PM   #9
NIMT
Yard Master
 
NIMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Three rocks south of the Sun
Posts: 5,518
Images: 35
What power supply are you powering it with?
__________________
http://www.northidahomodeltrains.com
NIMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 07:00 PM   #10
JerryH
Conductor
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 456
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 17
I don't have a Digitrax PS yet so I looked at the specs and used one of the 12v rails on a ATX PC power supply. 12.1 vdc 25 amp rating. Voltage was 12.1 at the input terminals. No overheating indicated. I next tried another power source 16 vdc that had an ammeter readout that showed about 4 amp initial blip on power on which imediately dropped to zero as the DCS started beep errors rather than 1 beep. 16 v still at terminals with no load.
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum