DCC Friendly Switches - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > HO Scale
Forgotten your password?

HO Scale Discussion of HO scale model trains.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 12:57 PM   #1
Cab1
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 114
DCC Friendly Switches

I've been looking at some switches from different brands, some of which are said to be "DCC Friendly". What exactly does that mean? If a switch is not marked in such a way does that mean it can't be used on a DCC layout?
Cab1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 05:55 PM   #2
JNXT 7707
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 58
It is little more than a marketing term. YES, switches not marked "DCC Friendly" can be used on a DCC layout.
JNXT 7707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:45 AM   #3
DonR
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 2,415
cab1

As JNXT says, as far as turnouts are concerned DCC is just another
electrical current; they could care less.

The main thing to look for in turnouts is the way power is handled
on the FROGS.

Some frogs require external switching to power them with correct polarity.

I'm a big fan of Peco INSULFROG turnouts. They do not require any
power switching. They are, however, power routing. Tracks beyond
a turnout require additional drops to avoid turning off power in those sections.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:08 AM   #4
Cab1
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 114
What are your thoughts on building your own switches? Fast tracks seems to have a nice setup for making switches - although I don't know how cost effective it would be. By the time you buy all the jigs, fixtures, and supplies to make a switch it would most likely come out to the same price as just buying one.
Cab1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:22 AM   #5
Smokinapankake
Conductor
 
Smokinapankake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Down in the basement
Posts: 273
I would think that the cost effectiveness would become apparent only when building dozens of them....
Smokinapankake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:24 PM   #6
spoil9
Conductor
 
spoil9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Niles, IL. USA.
Posts: 495
Scales Modeled: HO
Send a message via Yahoo to spoil9
I know a lot of people on this board love the Peco switches, but what about Atlas switches? Are they really that much trouble for use with DCC?
spoil9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:50 PM   #7
Southern
Schizophrenic Engineer
 
Southern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Carolina USA
Posts: 3,000
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 68
I still have some Atlas turnouts that I have not replaced yet. They are just as good (or Bad) with DC or DCC. The newer ones with metal frogs are better than the old plastic one. I use them in places that trains really go and do not have any DCC trouble. just derailments.
__________________
I still stop and watch trains go by.
Southern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 09:35 AM   #8
DonR
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 2,415
Spoil

Two downsides to Atlas turnouts:

1. Lately they have not been readily availalble due
to manufacturing problems in China.

2. I ended my derailing on turnout problem be replacing every
Atlas with Peco Insulfrogs.

But a lot of guys love 'em.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 10:03 AM   #9
norgale
Yard Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bonita Springs,Fl.
Posts: 5,339
Scales Modeled: ho
I have tons of Atlas turnouts and they are all #4's. Got them years ago when I was young an stupid. Don't get me wrong as these turnouts work fine but some derailing happened and not all at the same place or with the same rolling stock. In the last couple of years I have purchased several #6 & #8 turnouts and they work very much better and smoother. Seems like the higher the number of the turnout the better they work. Pete

Last edited by norgale; 09-24-2013 at 11:05 AM.
norgale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 02:55 PM   #10
Cab1
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 114
Okay, let's muddy the water a little more. I know the number designation for a turnout has to due with track diversion, the angle between the two stub tracks coming out of the points. When would you use a #4 turnout in place of say a #6 or #8? Is it just a question of getting track to fit the space you have or is there some other reason? Wouldn't it make things easier and more cost effective to use say a #6 throughout the layout? Which number designation would be the best all around to use? I ask this because if one was to build their own turnouts for a layout and they need a #6, a #4, and a #8 one would need to tool up for each one. That wouldn't make much sense - unless one had a huge layout.
Cab1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum