O gauge Layout wiring - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Layout Design Forum
Forgotten your password?

Layout Design Forum Discussion resource for planning your dream layout, large, small or micro!

 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2010, 10:50 PM   #1
solareclipse2
Hobo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
O gauge Layout wiring

I'm working on a layout with my dad and I want the wiring to be neat, organized, and separated so I can troubleshoot things.

Here is the track plan.



Each of the loops of track (Blue, Green, Red) should have their own transformer handle. Each of the yard tracks are insulated so I can turn them on/off with a switch. I want to run as few wires as possible but have them all go back to a central point.

I haven't figured out what accessories or lights to put on yet so basically getting a nice organized track wiring plan in place is a nice start.

For power I have a ZW, MRC Pure Dual, an LW and a CW 80. I think I would use the ZW for track power, and the rest are there for backup unless you guys can provide me with some options.

Thanks!
solareclipse2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 06:17 PM   #2
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,280
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
Sounds like a good plan.
In the center you have two switches back to back. Long trains have trouble with this and derail. Try to get one straight in there if possible.
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 07:11 PM   #3
solareclipse2
Hobo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
What I'm lost on is the best way to physically run the wires. How do I do it so I don't end up with like 10 wires all back at the transformer.
solareclipse2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 07:41 PM   #4
tjcruiser
Moderator
 
tjcruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 14,683
Scales Modeled: HO ... and growing Lionel O
Images: 64
A few comments ...

1. You're planning on running the wired underneath the table, right? If so, is wire length really all that critical?

2. Re: the trio of dead-end yard track. You say each of these is toggled on/off with a control switch. If so, don't you want the 4 track switches that lead to these (1R, 3L) to be "hot" with the Red line? I.e., only the straight sections of yard track would toggle on/off ... right?

3. For those, I'd run a pair of transformer leads to a wire bus, and then multiple leads from the bus to toggle control switches (presumably, mounted close to your transformer). Then, from the control switches, run pairs of leads to your individual track sections, as needed.

TJ
tjcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum