DC motor, Run on AC - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2010, 05:53 PM   #1
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,221
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
DC motor, Run on AC

Ok, this is the last time. I have my 8604 that has a DC motor. TOnight I got it to work on AC with one Radio Shack part. It goes forward and works. I just have to display the pictures but that puter is upstairs. It will take longer to post it than it did to get it to work.
I have another project to finish too.
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 07:43 PM   #2
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,221
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
First you but this part for under 3 bucks.
You have four connections. The two inners go to the frame ground and center pickup.
The red from motor goes to the + side and the black goes to the other side.
Easy.


...

The nice thing about these motors is that it has only two screws and you can replace it.
It ran like a champ.

...

You just installed a bridge rectifier.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bridge.jpg (26.1 KB, 119 views)
File Type: jpg it works.jpg (31.5 KB, 116 views)
File Type: jpg motor mount.jpg (26.4 KB, 112 views)
File Type: jpg buy this.jpg (18.2 KB, 116 views)
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information

Last edited by T-Man; 06-05-2010 at 07:49 PM.
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 08:42 PM   #3
imatt88
Engineer
 
imatt88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Allouez, Michigan, USA
Posts: 721
Scales Modeled: Models N, HO, S and O
OK, I suppose this will work on my 8625?

T-Man, was this directed at me, by chance?

Now I have to make a road trip to the nearest Radio Shack....2 hours away
imatt88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 08:50 PM   #4
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,221
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
I aim to please.
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 10:42 PM   #5
tjcruiser
Moderator
 
tjcruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 14,621
Scales Modeled: HO ... and growing Lionel O
Images: 64
T-Man,

Just out of curiosity, any idea on how "pure" of a DC signal comes out of the bridge? I.e., is it true steady voltage, or does it have a pulse / step signal of high frequency?

Thanks!

TJ
tjcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 09:00 AM   #6
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,221
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
For electronics Chips need filtered DC. To my knowledge it is not enough and needs capacitors. Look for my DC power supply.
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information

Last edited by T-Man; 06-06-2010 at 09:04 AM.
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:34 PM   #7
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,221
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
I have been thinking with a DTDP switch it can be made to work AC or DC.
DOn't know if you are interested in it.
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 11:43 AM   #8
tankist
פעם שריונר
 
tankist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 2,733
Scales Modeled: HO
TJ, what rectifier does is invert the "negative" part of the sine wave. so resulting DC is pulsed. which i guess not an issue for a motor.however to reverse direction there should be some sort of switch on the Loco, otherwise its always forwards.
tankist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:13 PM   #9
Reckers
Yard Master
 
Reckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 5,161
Scales Modeled: S Scale and N scale suitcase train!
Images: 72
Anton, does that mean the negative side's new sine wave is in step with the original sine wave? As in, do both curves peak at the same time and place? Or does one rise as the other falls? I can't think of any reason I'd need to know that, but you made me curious!
__________________
Reckers
Car Banger Par Excellence
Reckers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:15 PM   #10
tankist
פעם שריונר
 
tankist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 2,733
Scales Modeled: HO
tankist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
8604, ac+dc


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2008-2013 Model Train Forum