HO couplers - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Beginner Q & A
Forgotten your password?

Beginner Q & A If you're new to model trains, stop in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2010, 09:40 PM   #1
DanJ
Hobo
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wyoming Michigan
Posts: 19
HO couplers

Hello I am new to the forum and also to model trains. I have the HO scale set. I am looking to more cars and soon a second track as I have 2 loco's. My question is will all HO scale cars conect or do the couplers have to be from the same manufactorer? Thank you for any help I can get.
Dan
DanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 10:39 PM   #2
shaygetz
Moderator
 
shaygetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,747
Scales Modeled: HO, HOn30, N
Send a message via Yahoo to shaygetz
Welcome...there are 2 accepted coupler designs in regular use on HO scale equipment, the magnetic knuckle type and the horn/hook found on most toy trains. If yours looks like a fist with a curved metal wire under it, then you have the knuckle type. The other type looks as far from a knuck as you can get.



...knuckle type...



...horn/hook...



...Magicmate from IHC, works with both...
__________________
All the time men are abusing His patience, God is whetting His sword, and the longer it is whetting the sharper will be the edge...Presume not upon God’s patience. ---Charnock

My website... http://bobsmodelworks.com/. My old website will be finding its way there as well...
shaygetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:26 AM   #3
jzrouterman
Conductor
 
jzrouterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 458
Scales Modeled: HO
Though the magnet coupler is the preferred type, Don't throw away the horn hooked ones, as they do at times come in very handy. Example: A while back I purchased a Model Power engine shed. It came with a Santa Fe F2-A dummy engine equipt with horn hook couplers. I was going to change them over to knuckle couplers, but then this engine's coupler set up was a bit more complicated than that of an Athearn engine.

So instead of changing it's couplers, it proved a lot easier just to install two additional horn hook couplers that I had on hand, one in the back of my Athearn F7 engine and the other on one end of my post office car. Then hooked them all together along with the rest of the train with it's existing knuckle couplers. Since I won't be doing any switching with this train because the grandkids will be running this one, it's worked out very well. I guess you could say that doing it this way was the less of the two evils. Oh, and the engine shed? I use it to house a Rio Grande SW1500.

Routerman

Last edited by jzrouterman; 01-18-2011 at 02:28 AM.
jzrouterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:54 AM   #4
jzrouterman
Conductor
 
jzrouterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 458
Scales Modeled: HO
Though the magnet coupler is the preferred type, Don't throw away the horn hooked ones, as they do at times come in very handy. Example: A while back I purchased a Model Power engine shed. It came with a Santa Fe F2-A dummy engine equipt with horn hook couplers. I was going to change them over to knuckle couplers, but then this engine's coupler set up was a bit more complicated than that of an Athearn engine.

So instead of changing it's couplers, it proved a lot easier just to install two additional horn hook couplers that I had on hand, one in the back of my Athearn F7 engine and the other on one end of my post office car. Then hooked them all together along with the rest of the train with it's existing knuckle couplers. Since I won't be doing any switching with this train because the grandkids are running this one, it's worked out very well. I guess you could say that doing it this way was the less of the two evils.

Routerman
jzrouterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:32 PM   #5
Robes
Dispatcher
 
Robes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,112
Scales Modeled: Mostly HO,... and a bunch of XMAS "O" and 027
Any information on how to change the couplers on cars and engines? (how to)

Not to hijack the thread,...but information on replacing the trucks on cars would be great!
Robes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:15 PM   #6
NIMT
Yard Master
 
NIMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Three rocks south of the Sun
Posts: 5,518
Images: 35
This might help?
http://www.kadee.com/html/primer.pdf
__________________
http://www.northidahomodeltrains.com
NIMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:37 AM   #7
Robes
Dispatcher
 
Robes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,112
Scales Modeled: Mostly HO,... and a bunch of XMAS "O" and 027
That works... Thanx Sean...
Robes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:48 PM   #8
shaygetz
Moderator
 
shaygetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,747
Scales Modeled: HO, HOn30, N
Send a message via Yahoo to shaygetz
Here's how I do it...

http://www.freewebs.com/shaygetz/mod.htm

...just remember the shimming advice from Kadee, not every car is a straight shot.
__________________
All the time men are abusing His patience, God is whetting His sword, and the longer it is whetting the sharper will be the edge...Presume not upon God’s patience. ---Charnock

My website... http://bobsmodelworks.com/. My old website will be finding its way there as well...
shaygetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:28 PM   #9
Robes
Dispatcher
 
Robes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,112
Scales Modeled: Mostly HO,... and a bunch of XMAS "O" and 027
Nothin like pictures to make it easier.... Now I can go after some of those cars that need new trucks....
Robes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 08:26 AM   #10
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 22,221
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
You know Shay, that "model" on your blog main page looks VERY realistic!
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum