Williams GG-1 Conversion to TMCC w/cruise control - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 07:50 PM   #1
gunrunnerjohn
Wizard
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 20,802
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
Williams GG-1 Conversion to TMCC w/cruise control

OK, here it is, the saga of the Williams GG-1 conversion in pictures.

Here's the intended victim, a Williams GG-1 with a really HEAVY diecast shell!




Starting out, rip the shell off and revealed is the ancient Williams reversing board, relay based. No sound in this model it appears.





Stripped everything, removed the motor trucks, nothing but a piece of scrap metal.





Unpack out the Cruise Commander board and mount it between the motor trucks.




Note aluminum block spacer, provides heat sink and spacing for the truck motor mount to swivel under it. Thermal compound used on the block on both sides to help with heat dissipation.




Wired up the motors and track pickup and ground, all you need for basic operation.




Success! Runs like a champ.




Time to attack what is always the hardest part of these installations, the mechanical installation of the electrocouplers. Since I'm modifying a Williams engine and using Lionel electrocouplers, this should be interesting. Note the Williams coupler is soldered to the truck plate, interesting construction. It did make it easy to remove, just use heat.




The old coupler is in the background, and the intended replacement lies in the foreground.




Nuts to that right now, let's hook up the sound, that'll be more fun! Mounted the sound board using Velcro strips, makes it easy to take if I need to remove it for any reason.




The speaker is also mounted on Velcro at the other end of the engine, only place big enough for it.




Plug a couple of cables, and solder the tach leads for engine sound effects to the nearest motor, and time for another track test.




Sounds great, but now the only thing left is the electrocoupler installation! Here's the first one mounted, and the plastic mounting plate that I constructed to fasten it to the plate. Drilled a few holes and bolted it down.




Here's the other side of the truck top plate with the electrocoupler mounted.




The original truck with the Williams coupler and the converted one with the electrocoupler installed. Pretty slick if I do say so myself!




Another shot of the two trucks.




This is the plastic mounting plate that I made to mount the electrocoupler. The search for suitable material was the hardest part, finally used a $1 plastic putty knife from Home Depot, it was the exact right thickness to make the plates!




Here's one of the completed electrocoupler installations, wires are routed out the slot that the truck support rides in.




Time for the full track test, seems everything works!




The finished product with the shell back on, looks just like it did before I injected $250 worth of electronics into it! Maybe I should be disappointed. Note the pantographs, they're actually function, that's my TMCC antenna since the shell is metal.




Testing is interesting, at the slowest setting of about 1" a second, if you just stop the train, the wheels will slowly spin on the track keeping the engine running at the same rate. Very impressive, should be easy to manage on a larger layout, set the speed and truly forget it!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 01 Just starting.JPG (153.3 KB, 152 views)
File Type: jpg 02. Removed everything.JPG (146.0 KB, 145 views)
File Type: jpg 03 Mounded Cruise Commander.JPG (143.2 KB, 149 views)
File Type: jpg 04 Note Aluminum spacer for clearance.JPG (83.2 KB, 146 views)
File Type: jpg 05 Motors & pickups wired.jpg (151.8 KB, 146 views)
File Type: jpg 06 First Track Test.JPG (149.0 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg 07 Start of electrocoupler install.JPG (157.9 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg 08 Old coupler removed.JPG (143.1 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg 09 Sound boards installed.JPG (112.9 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg 10 Speaker installed.JPG (107.5 KB, 145 views)
File Type: jpg 11 Track Test with Sound.JPG (149.6 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg 12 Electrocoupler mounted 1.JPG (158.9 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg 13 Electrocoupler mounted 2.JPG (146.9 KB, 143 views)
File Type: jpg 14 Converted and original truck 1.JPG (153.1 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg 15 Converted and original truck 2.JPG (156.1 KB, 140 views)
File Type: jpg 16 Mounting Plate.JPG (152.7 KB, 140 views)
File Type: jpg 17 Completed Electrocoupler Install.JPG (133.0 KB, 140 views)
File Type: jpg 18 Full configuration track test.JPG (138.2 KB, 141 views)
File Type: jpg 19 Lookin' good!.JPG (151.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 20 Finished Product.JPG (153.2 KB, 284 views)
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 09:30 PM   #2
tjcruiser
Moderator
 
tjcruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 14,625
Scales Modeled: HO ... and growing Lionel O
Images: 64
Very nice stepwise project presentation! Looks like a successful Steve Austin rebuild!

TJ
tjcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:55 AM   #3
gunrunnerjohn
Wizard
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 20,802
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
One oddity that I found during the build. This is the second time that my KW transformer affected something on the track, it was screwing up the Alt settings to the cruise control board. I stuck an old 1033 on it and it worked fine. I'm thinking the fact that someone had put a grounded cord on the KW is causing these issues, time to replace that with the standard 2 prong plug.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:59 PM   #4
jimsandman
Hobo
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1
Those look like the Lionel Dash 9 couplers?

I've got a Cruise Commander, and the Railsounds commander ready to go. Didn't even consider electrocouplers till I see yours. I do have some of the Dash9 couplers if that's what you used.

Jim
jimsandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:04 PM   #5
captaincog
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 52
Very nice install and thanks for the pics!
captaincog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:47 PM   #6
seabilliau
Conductor
 
seabilliau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 419
Scales Modeled: O & O-27
Images: 4
Great post. Makes me want to leave conventional.
__________________
I'm with the U.S. Coast Guard and I'm here to help.
seabilliau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:11 AM   #7
servoguy
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Longwood, Florida
Posts: 2,373
Scales Modeled: O
John, I looked at the possibility of using a 3 prong plug when I replaced the power cords on my KWs. After some consideration, I used a standard 2 prong plug as I didn't see any reason to ground the transformer core.
servoguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:19 AM   #8
gunrunnerjohn
Wizard
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 20,802
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsandman View Post
Those look like the Lionel Dash 9 couplers?

I've got a Cruise Commander, and the Railsounds commander ready to go. Didn't even consider electrocouplers till I see yours. I do have some of the Dash9 couplers if that's what you used.Jim
Those are indeed DASH-9 couplers. I had to modify them to remove the magnetic decoupling feature because it got in the way. I spent more time modifying the couplers and trucks to work than the rest of the conversion!

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincog View Post
Very nice install and thanks for the pics!
You're most welcome, I hope they help someone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by seabilliau View Post
Great post. Makes me want to leave conventional.
Come on in, the water's fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by servoguy View Post
John, I looked at the possibility of using a 3 prong plug when I replaced the power cords on my KWs. After some consideration, I used a standard 2 prong plug as I didn't see any reason to ground the transformer core.
I don't either, and other KW's with the standard plug work fine.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:01 AM   #9
BigAl56
Engineer
 
BigAl56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 818
Scales Modeled: O
Images: 17
Nice job! I think I would have skipped replacing the couplers but this is great info for the future If I decide to upgrade one of my other conventional locomotives.
BigAl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:15 AM   #10
gunrunnerjohn
Wizard
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 20,802
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 4
I was determined to have electrocouplers, but I might re-think it if I did another.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2008-2013 Model Train Forum