What do the letters/numbers mean on the Diesel engines? - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > HO Scale
Forgotten your password?

HO Scale Discussion of HO scale model trains.

Old 04-17-2011, 02:22 PM   #1
strongestfaith1
Hobo

What do the letters/numbers mean on the Diesel engines?

I'm just getting started in HO scale trains and need to know what the letters and numbers signify when purchasing, ie. B23; GP40; etc.?
strongestfaith1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 03:28 PM   #2
Bangor and Aroostook
Hobo

I've been using Wikipedia a lot. Do a search for b23 diesel wiki or gp40 diesel wiki or any other type engine you want to research and you'll get hours of reading entertainment. Included are specs, number of units built, the rail lines the original units were sold to and more. Great informational resource.

Oh, and FYI while I'm here, it was Wikipedia that told me that a BL2 was designated as a Branch Line engine, nicknamed "The Ugly Duckling" and was the predecessor of the GP7, etc., units.

Last edited by Bangor and Aroostook; 04-17-2011 at 03:39 PM.
Bangor and Aroostook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:11 PM   #3
Zeus-cat
Gang Labourer

They are model numbers of the real locomotives. The GP40 is the EMD GP40, a 4-axle diesel-electric locomotive built by General Motors.

Bangor and Aroostook gave good advice; use the net to do a bunch of research if you need to know all of the details.
Zeus-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
tjcruiser

Scales Modeled: HO ... and growing Lionel O
Strong,

I raised a similar question a while back. A few members offered some very helpful links, per the thread below ...

http://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=5252

Cheers,

TJ
tjcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:50 AM   #5