Adding Smoke - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2008, 09:35 AM   #1
DJTrains
Brakeman
 
DJTrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern, Michigan
Posts: 196
Scales Modeled: Lionel O
Adding Smoke

I have a scout LOCO that has a working smoke unit installed but the motor is not wired for it.

I don't want to pull the motor apart due to the wheel removal problem.

I'm thinking about installing a new roller to supply power to the smoker.

Anybody ever try this before?
DJTrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:51 AM   #2
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,302
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
Scout

Hi Dale! You love that smoke don't you!

A Scout, worst case is all plastic. I have a 1062 and devised a plan . My guess to install the smoke unit is that you have to remove the Bayonet bulb. I have no idea how you will make it chug though. If you have a broken base to a bayonet bulb, use that as your power and ground for the smoke unit. I am assuming the motors are similar since you said you had to take it apart to get to any wires.

Easy, if you have an E unit. Use the pos and neg feeds from it. My 1130 is sort of a Scout type but with a better design. It has the e unit.

CTT has a thread on smoking the HOBO on the Polar express complete with pictures.
http://cs.trains.com/trccs/forums/t/141568.aspx
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 04:33 PM   #3
DJTrains
Brakeman
 
DJTrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern, Michigan
Posts: 196
Scales Modeled: Lionel O
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Man View Post
Hi Dale! You love that smoke don't you!

A Scout, worst case is all plastic. I have a 1062 and devised a plan . My guess to install the smoke unit is that you have to remove the Bayonet bulb. I have no idea how you will make it chug though. If you have a broken base to a bayonet bulb, use that as your power and ground for the smoke unit. I am assuming the motors are similar since you said you had to take it apart to get to any wires.

Easy, if you have an E unit. Use the pos and neg feeds from it. My 1130 is sort of a Scout type but with a better design. It has the e unit.

CTT has a thread on smoking the HOBO on the Polar express complete with pictures.
http://cs.trains.com/trccs/forums/t/141568.aspx

Yes, I do luv smoke

I like what you wrote about the bulb socket on the motor because I was thinking that same thing.

My motor has a wire coming out but I'm guessing that's a ground wire--right? I connected it to the smoker but it doesn't work. I know the smoke unit will work because it did with the old motor.

See I've had to replace a burned-out motor. I put a non-smoke motor on a smoker LOCO. As you know, most scouts from the 1940's to early 60's used the same basic motor.

How should I solder the wire from the smoke unit to that bulb socket?
DJTrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:28 AM   #4
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,302
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
Are you sure the wire is a ground? If so there is a tab on the lower opposite side. With these you may have your feeds.

With the socket, the best thing to do is drill holes for the wires. One through the center and the other to the side. This will let you solder the center wire from the outside after you feed it from the inside. Be sure the center wire is insulated from the sides.

That's it
Bob
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:39 AM   #5
DJTrains
Brakeman
 
DJTrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern, Michigan
Posts: 196
Scales Modeled: Lionel O
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Man View Post
Are you sure the wire is a ground? If so there is a tab on the lower opposite side. With these you may have your feeds.

With the socket, the best thing to do is drill holes for the wires. One through the center and the other to the side. This will let you solder the center wire from the outside after you feed it from the inside. Be sure the center wire is insulated from the sides.

That's it
Bob
Thanks Bob I think I follow you.

I'm not big on these scouts but I have one so thought I'd try to make it worth while if you know what I mean?

The motors on scounts sound cheap and noisy--not at all like those nice Hudsons and higher grade Lionels.

That wire coming out of the motor is most likely ground because it has no insulation on it and the connector has a hole to be screw mounted. That looks like a ground wire to me.

I'll try different combos of wiring until I get it right.

Thanks
DJTrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 03:09 PM   #6
DJTrains
Brakeman
 
DJTrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern, Michigan
Posts: 196
Scales Modeled: Lionel O
Well, I wired the motor as stated above but nothing happened.

I pulled the smoke unit and it wouldn't work wired directly to the transformer so I installed a new smoker kit. When I wired it to the transformer it smoked so much it almost drove me out of the room.

I checked the wires from the motor and had a tiny spark from positive to negative so I knew they were working.

I put it all together and it only smokes if I run the steamer full speed and hold it in one position. When running the train with 7 cars the smoker doesn't work even if I run it very fast and for a long time. It appears there's not enough power from the motor wiring under normal use.

If I wired the smoker directly to a center rail pickup I'm sure it would work fine.

At any rate I've had enough of this scout. It's the last one of these I ever buy. The higher grade trains are far superior.

Dale

Last edited by DJTrains; 11-17-2008 at 03:17 PM.
DJTrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:54 PM   #7
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 8,302
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 259
I think the smoke units like the juice. The motor doesn't draw the power needed for the smoker. Those motor are lightweights or maybe you just need a heavier wire feed.
To experiment you could turn a Scout into a dummy and place the smoker in that and have the second engine push.
Bob
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 07:33 AM   #8
DJTrains
Brakeman
 
DJTrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern, Michigan
Posts: 196
Scales Modeled: Lionel O
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Man View Post
I think the smoke units like the juice. The motor doesn't draw the power needed for the smoker. Those motor are lightweights or maybe you just need a heavier wire feed.
To experiment you could turn a Scout into a dummy and place the smoker in that and have the second engine push.
Bob
I was thinking about rigging a middle rail pickup roller just for the smoker but this old scout doesn't have a piston to force the smoke out. It just has an air hole that proved to be a poor design.

I think I'll just sell it on ebay along with some cars/boxes and move on. I'll tell all the shortcomings in my ebay ad. Scouts aren't my thing.

Last edited by DJTrains; 11-18-2008 at 07:35 AM.
DJTrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 10:02 AM   #9
DJTrains
Brakeman
 
DJTrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern, Michigan
Posts: 196
Scales Modeled: Lionel O
I finally rigged the 6110 scout for aggresive smoke

I converted a 60's empty tender with a pickup and wired it into the engine. I used the resistor/pink insulation method and grounded it all to the motor.

I drilled 2 holes in the bottom of the smoke unit for the resistor leads. I also drilled a hole in the back of the 6110 and on the front of the tender so I could run the power line.

I think it smokes pretty good--what do you think?

The faster she goes the better she looks. The smoke flows out more like a real engine.

Here she is ready to roll...



Here she is on the roll...


Last edited by DJTrains; 12-02-2008 at 10:04 AM.
DJTrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 01:16 PM   #10
Boston&Maine
Minute Man
 
Boston&Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,617
Scales Modeled: 3R O (1:48)
Images: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTrains View Post
I think it smokes pretty good--what do you think?

The faster she goes the better she looks. The smoke flows out more like a real engine.
Great work... Just do not go setting off any smoke detectors
Boston&Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
smoke


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum