DC v DCC - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource  

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > HO Scale
Forgotten your password?

HO Scale Discussion of HO scale model trains.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 08:30 PM   #1
d.k.v
Hobo
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
DC v DCC

noob question but what is the diffrence between the two?
d.k.v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 08:44 PM   #2
Boston&Maine
Minute Man
 
Boston&Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,617
Scales Modeled: 3R O (1:48)
Images: 380
DC stands for direct current (vs. alternating current)... It is the type of current used on two-rail track, where as AC is used on three-rail track... With DC you will only be able to run one locomotive at a time on a track unless you seperate it into blocks...

DCC stands for digital command control... This allows you to control multiple trains on the same track at the same time by taking the DC frequency and transforming it into an AC frequency... If you want to have a big layout this is the way to go... Here is a little tid-bit on DCC...
Boston&Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 08:48 PM   #3
d.k.v
Hobo
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
thanks so much.But digital is a lil out my price range
d.k.v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 08:50 PM   #4
Boston&Maine
Minute Man
 
Boston&Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,617
Scales Modeled: 3R O (1:48)
Images: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.k.v View Post
thanks so much.But digital is a lil out my price range
Yes, it can be pricey DKV... You will have to wait for the HO experts around here to come in here and explain how you can control multiple locomotives on the same layout with conventional (using DC) mode...
Boston&Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 09:03 PM   #5
Southern
Schizophrenic Engineer
 
Southern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Carolina USA
Posts: 2,982
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.k.v View Post
noob question but what is the difference between the two?
DC, Direct Current, Old

DCC, Digital control command, New

In DC the power pack supples variable voltage to the loco via the track. the higher the voltage the faster the loco.

In DCC the voltage of the track is constant. the Loco receives a signal as to how much of the use the available voltage to use.

there is a lot more the it than that, but that is it in a nut shell.
__________________
I still stop and watch trains go by.
Southern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 09:34 PM   #6
Southern
Schizophrenic Engineer
 
Southern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Carolina USA
Posts: 2,982
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 68
I don't know squat about DCC. I do know DC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boston&Maine View Post
DC stands for direct current (vs. alternating current)... It is the type of current used on two-rail track, where as AC is used on three-rail track... With DC you will only be able to run one locomotive at a time on a track unless you separate it into blocks...

DCC stands for digital command control... This allows you to control multiple trains on the same track at the same time by taking the DC frequency and transforming it into an AC frequency... If you want to have a big layout this is the way to go... Here is a little tid-bit on DCC...
I sometimes I run five trains on four tracks with DC. The trick (fun) is to work the turnout so that there is not a train crash. Each train runs at a different speed off of the same powerpack. it can geat CRAZZY
__________________
I still stop and watch trains go by.
Southern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 09:47 PM   #7
shaygetz
Moderator
 
shaygetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,715
Scales Modeled: HO, HOn30, N
Send a message via Yahoo to shaygetz
DCC is great, no doubt about it---once you get past the sticker shock. I had half my fleet wired for it at one time because the club I was in had it. When that came to an end, I had to make a choice and DCC lost. Had a grand old time pulling out decoders (after I figured out a way to jump the plugs, that was a lot of work you know ) and selling them on Ebay. Never looked back though I'm set up should any large unforeseen cash windfall come my way.

__________________
All the time men are abusing His patience, God is whetting His sword, and the longer it is whetting the sharper will be the edge...Presume not upon God’s patience. ---Charnock

My website... http://bobsmodelworks.com/. My old website will be finding its way there as well...
shaygetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 06:01 PM   #8
glgraphix
Brakeman
 
glgraphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lenoir, NC
Posts: 240
Scales Modeled: HO
I have been looking into this same thing (the DCC). I have heard it both ways. But, my question is.... Why do some of the DCC units claim they can run 10 engines off one supply, but some say it want take the strain?
Please explain if anyone "really" knows? I am fixing to purchase a unit, and want to make the best choice.
Thanks, Kevin
glgraphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 06:30 PM   #9
Southern
Schizophrenic Engineer
 
Southern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Carolina USA
Posts: 2,982
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 68
This might not apply to DCC. Each engine needs wattage (power). the more engines consuming wattage the more the trasnformer must supply. (Watts = volts X amps) If the trans former can not supply the power it might over heat. With DC the trains will just run slower with more trains pulling power from the same transformer. I am not sure if it is the same with DCC. Hope that helps.
__________________
I still stop and watch trains go by.

Last edited by Southern; 01-01-2009 at 06:34 PM.
Southern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 06:41 PM   #10
d.k.v
Hobo
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
so on dcc i can run a long train with 2-3 locos with no problem?
d.k.v is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2008-2013 Model Train Forum