Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource (https://www.modeltrainforum.com/index.php)
-   O Scale (https://www.modeltrainforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Rheostat plus transformer (https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=184676)

farquard 10-16-2019 10:23 PM

Rheostat plus transformer
 
I noticed that on the original box for the Lionel #81 rheostat, it shows the rheostat wired between the track and the transformer. BUT the transformer shown has a throttle.

What is the purpose of the rheostat, when your transformer has a throttle? Thanks.

BigAl56 10-17-2019 10:02 AM

I thought the rheostats job was to create a different fixed voltage, 6v for lights for example.

santafe158 10-17-2019 10:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by farquard (Post 2460826)
I noticed that on the original box for the Lionel #81 rheostat, it shows the rheostat wired between the track and the transformer. BUT the transformer shown has a throttle.

What is the purpose of the rheostat, when your transformer has a throttle? Thanks.

I believe that early transformer only has four contact points, or four speeds. With the rheostat wired in beyond it you'd have finer speed control. Just my best guess.

highvoltage 10-17-2019 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigAl56 (Post 2460888)
I thought the rheostats job was to create a different fixed voltage, 6v for lights for example.

If left alone, yes. But the sliding nature of the control arm allowed it to be used for speed control when attached to a fixed voltage output.

But to answer the OP's original question, I don't know why it would be used on a variable voltage output.

Millstonemike 10-17-2019 01:29 PM

I believe the rheostat was also used to run trains off batteries as not every house had convenient AC outlets (or outlets at all). I saw a Lionel pic of an early transformer that came with a light bulb adapter attached to it's AC plug for use with light sockets.

farquard 10-19-2019 12:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by santafe158 (Post 2460898)
I believe that early transformer only has four contact points, or four speeds. With the rheostat wired in beyond it you'd have finer speed control. Just my best guess.

Jake,
Yes, that makes sense. Thank you!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.