Tinsel Wire - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > S Scale
Forgotten your password?

S Scale Get in here if you want the lowdown on S scale!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2020, 07:41 AM   #1
Kelpieflyer
Brakeman
 
Kelpieflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southport, IN
Posts: 143
Scales Modeled: S (the best) and some O
Tinsel Wire

Anyone here have an idea where I can get the two conductor tinsel wire for a coal loader and electromagnetic crane?

No one seems to have anything I can use.

Also looking for some bulk 4 conductor wire that Flyernut mentioned in an earlier post about re-wiring an engine. I do enough engine wiring that I could use a bulk supply and not be stuck with the harnesses that are available.
__________________
Russell M.
TCA 13-68704
Kelpieflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2020, 11:10 PM   #2
Sagas
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Warsaw, ON.
Posts: 58
Jeff at The Train Tender sells bulk 4 conductor rainbow wire (100') and most likely has the other you need. Barry
Sagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:58 AM   #3
MichaelE
Station Master
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,534
Scales Modeled: HO
Digi-Key or Mouser.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Oberbayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-25-2020, 06:38 AM   #4
flyernut
Yard Master
 
flyernut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williamson NY
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelpieflyer View Post
Anyone here have an idea where I can get the two conductor tinsel wire for a coal loader and electromagnetic crane?

No one seems to have anything I can use.

Also looking for some bulk 4 conductor wire that Flyernut mentioned in an earlier post about re-wiring an engine. I do enough engine wiring that I could use a bulk supply and not be stuck with the harnesses that are available.
I get mine on ebay, and the seller is "dmigolf-trains.
flyernut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 03:34 PM   #5
Kelpieflyer
Brakeman
 
Kelpieflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southport, IN
Posts: 143
Scales Modeled: S (the best) and some O
Thanks for the replies. I'll get some ordered.
__________________
Russell M.
TCA 13-68704
Kelpieflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 10:34 PM   #6
Kelpieflyer
Brakeman
 
Kelpieflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southport, IN
Posts: 143
Scales Modeled: S (the best) and some O
I couldnt find any tinsel wire for the coal loader. Anyone know of a specific source?
__________________
Russell M.
TCA 13-68704
Kelpieflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 06:51 AM   #7
flyernut
Yard Master
 
flyernut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williamson NY
Posts: 5,527
Sorry, I'm lost..What is "tinsel" wire?
flyernut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 07:26 AM   #8
MichaelE
Station Master
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,534
Scales Modeled: HO
Fine copper flat strands wrapped around a synthetic core of fibreglass or nylon thread.

It's very fine and usually found in telephone handset cords. Highly flexible.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Oberbayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 10:06 PM   #9
Kelpieflyer
Brakeman
 
Kelpieflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southport, IN
Posts: 143
Scales Modeled: S (the best) and some O
It is the wire used for the electromagnetic crane magnet and the coal loader clam shell. I tried to use some of the super flex 24 gauge wire, but sine I had to use two of them, the wire is not flexible enough and does not allow the clamshell to go up and down properly.
__________________
Russell M.
TCA 13-68704
Kelpieflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 08:30 AM   #10
Sagas
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Warsaw, ON.
Posts: 58
Port Lines shows two conductor 24 gauge super flex wire at the bottom of the coal loader parts listing. If you ordered it from him and it did not work I have no other suggestion but if not, I would call Doug first before ordering to confirm it will work for you.
Sagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.