newbie - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > N Scale
Forgotten your password?

N Scale Atlas, Life-Like, Graham Farish, Micro-Trains, Minitrix and other N scale discussion.

Old 12-10-2019, 08:43 AM   #1
firescales22
Conductor

Scales Modeled: N scale
Wipe Sweat From Brow newbie

so im a newbie and i was wondering if somebody could tell me what trains/train brands would be good for me (13 yrs) also if somebody could help with what rolling stock would be good

thx in advance
firescales22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2019, 09:16 AM   #2
rrjim1
Brakeman

Scales Modeled: N-scale
You can't go wrong with Atlas locos and rolling stock, lots of great products to choose from. I would stay away from anything that doesn't have Micro Trains or MT compatible couplers. That way you won't have to change or modify couplers. Kato is one brand that IMO has terrible couplers.
rrjim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 10:28 AM   #3
firescales22
Conductor

ok thx and what about rapido couplers r they any good

also i was thinking about purchasing a DCC loco do u know like what one i should purchase and what DCC machinery i should get?

Old 12-10-2019, 11:08 AM   #4
rrjim1
Brakeman

I use and really like Digitrax mainly because of the hand held throttles. Some people like NCE, I would check out all the system your think you might be interested in before making a purchase.

If you can find a DCC loco you like, If not consider purchasing a DCC ready locos that you like and install a decoder.

Rapido couplers, outdated not used very much. You can how ever change the couplers or the complete trucks with couplers. Almost everyone uses Micro Trains = the best.
Old 12-10-2019, 12:08 PM   #5
traction fan
Station Master

Scales Modeled: N
West Welcome aboard!

Quote: