speed difference in consist - Page 3 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2019, 07:37 PM   #21
CTValleyRR
Train Master
 
CTValleyRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: East Haddam, CT
Posts: 8,619
Scales Modeled: HO
I can't confirm Sid's experience on the Bachmann locos, either. Their DECODERS are not so hot; their locos are very nice and run well.
__________________
Connecticut Valley Railroad -- A Branch of the New York, New Haven, And Hartford

"We don't stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing." --George Bernard Shaw
CTValleyRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2019, 10:14 PM   #22
flyboy2610
Dispatcher
 
flyboy2610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 1,838
Scales Modeled: HO, too blind and fumble fingered for N
I have found that the 'soldering', if you wish to dignify it with that word, on the Bachmann DCC Equipped locos is less than stellar. If I were going to purchase the Bachmann 70 ton DCC Equipped loco, I would also purchase a Digitrax DZ123 decoder and install it.
http://www.digitrax.com/products/mobile-decoders/dz123/
They are small, but work well. Make sure you check the stall current on the Bachmann loco first. I replaced a Bachmann decoder in an 0-6-0 with one of these and it runs great! Of course I also added pickups to the tender wheels.
__________________
"If the women don't find ya handsome, they should at least find ya handy!"
Red Green
http://theworldasiseeit-flyboy2610.b...-i-see-it.html
flyboy2610 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:46 PM   #23
spikedrivingblues
Brakeman
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 153
I consisted my first two engines not long ago. In addition to adjusting cv2 you may also need to adjust cv5 and cv6 (I think those are the numbers). This will also match them at mid and high speed. Check your owners manual but I think cv6 is mid speed and cv 5 is high speed.

Speed matching beyond those 3 CVs are not in this beginners purview
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.