JMRI Question - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2019, 03:32 PM   #1
spikedrivingblues
Brakeman
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 154
JMRI Question

This question is regarding JMRI OPERATIONS rather than DECODER PRO. JMRI OPERATIONS has nothing to do with DCC but I thought I might find some more experienced JMRI users here. Sorry if I posted it in the wrong place.

Also, I did join the JMRI User's Group so I could ask questions there but I cannot figure out how to navigate that site.

I have a spur programmed to receive loaded flat cars only. The program "knows" that two cars fit on the spur and I have the move count set to two. All trains are assigned to routes which call for two moves at this location including lifts and drops (Random is set to off). I did this so a train with both loaded flat cars will drop both of them off. Alternately, if an empty car is already on the spur and a train comes to that location it will be "forced" to pick up the empty and drop off the loaded one.

However, the program creates switch lists that only perform one move at this location when two are possible (again, random is set to "off").

I entered the maximum train length into the program settings as it would be when my layout is complete even though I have less than half of the cars I will have when the layout is complete.

Could it be that the program prioritizes length of trains over the number of moves at a given location? If this is the case, when all of my locations exist on the layout and I have the amount of cars I intend will the program work as I planned?

Sorry for the wordy question.

Paul
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2019, 09:14 AM   #2
Genetk44
Dispatcher
 
Genetk44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,331
Scales Modeled: HO and OO
Paul...I’m sorry I can’t answer your question. Which JMRI users group did you join...was it this one? [email protected] If so...what is your problem navigating it..maybe I can help you with that...they are the most helpful and knowledgable group for JMRI issues.

Cheers
Gene
Genetk44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 05:54 PM   #3
spikedrivingblues
Brakeman
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genetk44 View Post
Paul...I’m sorry I can’t answer your question. Which JMRI users group did you join...was it this one? [email protected] If so...what is your problem navigating it..maybe I can help you with that...they are the most helpful and knowledgable group for JMRI issues.

Cheers
Gene
Sorry, I didn't see my email notifying me of your reply until today.

I looked at it again and turns out I only created an account but never searched for and joined that group.

I'm having more luck now

Thanks

Thanks
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.