LION CHEIF TRAIN QUESTION - Page 4 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2019, 06:11 PM   #31
Bull6791
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pa
Posts: 190
Thanks mike. How big is your layout/platform. My platform is just a 4x8 sheet of plywood on saw horse for beginners.
Bull6791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2019, 07:28 AM   #32
Bull6791
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pa
Posts: 190
Question: does anyone have a platform where they just keep sheets of plywood on saw horse. Also Is that a good platform 4x8 sheets of plywood on saw horses. Thanks.
Bull6791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 09:13 AM   #33
TimD
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
Great question have been wondering the same, looking to get my layout started, just ordered my first set
TimD is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-02-2019, 09:17 AM   #34
Bull6791
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pa
Posts: 190
Tim what set did you order for your first set. My first and only set so far is the Polar Express ready to run lion chief set. Thanks.
Bull6791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 11:17 AM   #35
Millstonemike
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NNJ
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bull6791 View Post
Question: does anyone have a platform where they just keep sheets of plywood on saw horse. Also Is that a good platform 4x8 sheets of plywood on saw horses. Thanks.
There's everything from holiday carpet layouts to full blown layouts over 50'. The sawhorses are fine as long as the sheets don't sag enough to create a running problem. If that occurs, you could run a 2x4 or 2x3 along both long edges and center the saw horses between.

I would think the most common platform is constructed like a stud wall albeit horizontal with 2x4s for legs. That supports body weight for larger layouts and access to areas that can't be reached from the side of the layout. And 2x4s (2x3s) are the cheapest structural wood for a layout.

Right now I have a small test track and I'm renovating a basement back room for a 19' x 4.25' layout with a 3' dog bone at one end. I plan on using the 2x3s for the sheet framing.

Millstonemike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 06:26 PM   #36
Bull6791
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pa
Posts: 190
LionChief: if I have 3 LionChief trains all running on separate tracks. Do I have to control each train with the LionChief remote they came from or not. Thanks.
Bull6791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2019, 09:05 PM   #37
Chiefmcfuz
Dispatcher
 
Chiefmcfuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Westchester NY
Posts: 1,221
Scales Modeled: O/O27 Some HO from my childhood
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bull6791 View Post
LionChief: if I have 3 LionChief trains all running on separate tracks. Do I have to control each train with the LionChief remote they came from or not. Thanks.
They can be controlled by the remotes they come with or the universal remote sold separately. If they are Bluetooth they can be controlled by the Lionel app.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
__________________
I dip my bullets in bacon grease.
Chiefmcfuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 09:29 AM   #38
Bull6791
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pa
Posts: 190
LionChief universal remote: what trains does that work with. Is there a list.
My LionChief train is # 6-30218. I don’t think universal remote works with this train. I do not know. Thanks.
Bull6791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 09:55 AM   #39
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,687
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
With the current software upgrades, I believe the Universal remote works with all but one or two early LC models. I'm pretty sure that the Universal Remote will indeed run your locomotive.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service, ERR Dealer
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 10:08 AM   #40
seayakbill
Yard Master
 
seayakbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bull6791 View Post
Question: does anyone have a platform where they just keep sheets of plywood on saw horse. Also Is that a good platform 4x8 sheets of plywood on saw horses. Thanks.
My first permanent layout back in 1958 was on a 4x8 sheet of plywood on 3 saw horses.

Bill
seayakbill is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.