MTH 20-3020 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2019, 08:47 PM   #1
VinnieC
Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 7
Scales Modeled: O
MTH 20-3020

I'm in need of a smoke board for my Hudson. Part # AA-0000062.

Can anyone help me acquire one or help me repair mine if feasible?

Thanks
VinnieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2019, 04:55 PM   #2
lou1985
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Chicago
Posts: 71
Scales Modeled: 3 Rail O
Any PS1 steam smoke unit that is the same size should work. Just transfer the little brass funnel cup to the new one and you should be in business. What's wrong with the current smoke unit? The resistors, wick, and motor are available from MTH.
__________________
Santa Fe, All The Way
lou1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 05:59 PM   #3
VinnieC
Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 7
Scales Modeled: O
Thanks Lou,

Put a new fan motor in and it works fine now but for some strange reason the Loco keeps derailing around curves/switches which it never did before.

Do you have part numbers for the resistors?

Vince
VinnieC is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-13-2019, 10:02 AM   #4
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,649
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Well, the smoke unit won't help the derailing.

How about being a bit more specific as to the problem. Is it the front pilot that's hopping off, or are the drivers derailing?
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service, ERR Dealer
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 10:26 AM   #5
VinnieC
Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 7
Scales Modeled: O
Sometimes the front truck , sometimes the drivers, and sometimes the rear truck. I first noticed one rubber tire coming loose so I replaced it but that didn't help. Then I thought it might be the wire being twisted that plugs in the back of the engine but that didn't help. Did I disturb something by removing and installing the shell numerous times?
VinnieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:41 AM   #6
lou1985
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Chicago
Posts: 71
Scales Modeled: 3 Rail O
Did you remove anything besides the shell? Are the traction tires on straight? No bumps in the tires?
__________________
Santa Fe, All The Way
lou1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 12:13 PM   #7
VinnieC
Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 7
Scales Modeled: O
I'll check.
VinnieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 01:43 PM   #8
VinnieC
Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 7
Scales Modeled: O
Turns out 2 screws were coming loose. The one that holds the drawbar and 1 under the front truck. All is well now but the whistle blows by itself intermittently. Is that the sign of a weak battery?
VinnieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 10:32 AM   #9
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,649
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
The largest offender with the whistle blowing at times is dirty track and/or wheels/rollers. Clean the wheels, center track rollers, and the track, and see if that solves it.

The whistle randomly going off can also be the sign of an older PS/1 board and a chopped wave transformer. The old PS/1 liked pure sine waves.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service, ERR Dealer
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 11:09 AM   #10
VinnieC
Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 7
Scales Modeled: O
Thank you. Of course the whistle blows at the same spots which is under a tunnel or an almost unreachable part of the layout. It seems when the whistle blows if I increase the voltage it stops. I tried cleaning the track with my Lionel 3927 Track Cleaner. I will see if I can find a way to clean it better. Thanks again.
VinnieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.