Modem like noise coming from locomotive - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 05:56 PM   #1
[email protected]
Hobo
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Modem like noise coming from locomotive

Hi All!

I recently purchased an NCE PowerCab starter set to use with my Athearn Genesis UP 844 with ESU LokSound I received for Christmas.

Ran into an issue. I put the 844 on the programming track. Plugged in the NCE PowerCab and the 844 started making this awful high pitched modem type buzzing sound. Turned it off.

Checked the wires from the NCE system to the programming track and everything looks good. Turn it on again, same noise. Tried to blow the whistle, got another modem like buzzing sound. Tried the bell, got a different modem like buzzing sound. Lights won't work, locomotive won't move. Just makes buzzing sounds. I was able to change the address of the 844 from 3 to 8444, so I know I can access the decoder.

Tried a new Walthers Mainline Gevo with Loksound. Same result. I don't have any other locos with different decoders at this point to test with.

Thoughts? Thanks!
harrshel@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-16-2019, 07:31 PM   #2
ncrc5315
Conductor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 261
Without being there, it almost sounds as if the locos don't have decoders in them, and what you are hearing is the high pitched whine of the DCC wave, in a DC motor.
ncrc5315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 07:38 PM   #3
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,531
Scales Modeled: HO
Reset the decoder with 008/8 and start over. ESU reset address is 008.

You might also want to inspect to see that the decode is installed correctly. They can be installed upside down to an extent depending upon the decoder. IE., 21 pin, 8 pin, Plux22, etc.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-17-2019, 01:39 AM   #4
mesenteria
Dispatcher
 
mesenteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Comox, BC
Posts: 1,306
If a factory defaults reset doesn't work, I would agree that it's one of two things: defective decoder or......no decoder at all.

My very brief experience where a locomotive made sounds like the groans and squeals of an older internet modem signing on was due to the digital current supplied to the rails full voltage and the commutator of the motor vibrating to the changes in phase of the digital pulses. It was a DC setup inside the loco...no decoder.
mesenteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.