LOCO NOT RUNNING - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Beginner Q & A
Forgotten your password?

Beginner Q & A If you're new to model trains, stop in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2019, 02:33 PM   #1
spikedrivingblues
Gang Labourer
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 88
LOCO NOT RUNNING

I haven't checked in with the forum for a while (I missed it) or worked on the layout in months. Just too much going on recently. I have run the trains from time to time though.

I have a BLI Paragon 2 SD40-2, lights and sound work but it doesn't move when throttle is applied. According to my NCE Power Cab display it starts to draw too much then the DCC system shorts.

I set cv 8 to 8 and did a hardware reset but nothing. I've already sent an email to BLI but I was wondering if anyone has run into this before and had any thoughts.

Thanks!
__________________
Read about my layout and make suggestions here!
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=178502
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2019, 02:55 PM   #2
D&J Railroad
Dispatcher
 
D&J Railroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,498
Scales Modeled: HO only and some G scale stuff for display
Have you taken the shell off to check for obstructions in the drive train?
__________________
Ken
Chief Operator and creator of the D&J Railroad
D&J Railroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:05 PM   #3
spikedrivingblues
Gang Labourer
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by D&J Railroad View Post
Have you taken the shell off to check for obstructions in the drive train?
Yes, I took the shell off to do the reset but nothing was obviously obstructing anything, at least not to this beginner's eyes.
__________________
Read about my layout and make suggestions here!
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=178502
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 05-14-2019, 03:37 PM   #4
bewhole
Brakeman
 
bewhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Maine
Posts: 194
Scales Modeled: N Scale
Well if the lights and sound work then it is getting power. Try taking the shell off and putting your head really close the it and apply power if you hear a "Hum" then the grease(Lubricant) has setup. just clean that off and reapply. If you do not hear a hum give it a light "Tap" with your finger on the top of it sometimes that works.
hope you can get it running soon.
bewhole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:58 PM   #5
spikedrivingblues
Gang Labourer
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by bewhole View Post
Well if the lights and sound work then it is getting power. Try taking the shell off and putting your head really close the it and apply power if you hear a "Hum" then the grease(Lubricant) has setup. just clean that off and reapply. If you do not hear a hum give it a light "Tap" with your finger on the top of it sometimes that works.
hope you can get it running soon.
Thanks. I'll check for that. Unfortunately my schedule beckons again so I'll have to get back to you tomorrow. Thanks again for the help
__________________
Read about my layout and make suggestions here!
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=178502
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.