Occupancy detection, etc. hardware recommendations - Page 3 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2019, 04:38 PM   #21
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
Ronatu

I'm a bit confused by your layout drawing.
Have your drawn it out using RED for 'outside' rail,
BLACK for 'inside' rail?
I see the two reverse loops that you have identified,
but the connection 'in red' between T2, T3 and T4 could
also create a 'loop' situation.

Don
Lines for both rails. No outside/inside rails there. Just railroad.
Attached please find simplified version.
2 rev loops there.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg layout4.jpg (2.02 MB, 5 views)
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 03:04 PM   #22
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,018
What you have is a folded figure eight with a
second figure eight within it. I agree with where
you have indicated insulated joiners but wonder if
those isolated sections are long enough for any
lighted passenger train you might run. If loco is
over 'exit' insulated joiners and a lighted coach truck
is over the 'entrance' joiners you would have a
short circuit. Also, you must use two reverse loop
controllers. You cannot have one control that 'X'
since it would have 4 entrance/exits and the probability
of more than one train attempting to use it
would result in a short circuit.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:20 PM   #23
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
What you have is a folded figure eight with a
second figure eight within it. I agree with where
you have indicated insulated joiners but wonder if
those isolated sections are long enough for any
lighted passenger train you might run. If loco is
over 'exit' insulated joiners and a lighted coach truck
is over the 'entrance' joiners you would have a
short circuit. Also, you must use two reverse loop
controllers. You cannot have one control that 'X'
since it would have 4 entrance/exits and the probability
of more than one train attempting to use it
would result in a short circuit.

Don
Great!
Don can you help me with simple diagram how to connect two BXPA1 to?
Yours
Roman
See real tracks in attached file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20190312_182815761.jpg (1,018.2 KB, 3 views)
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-05-2019, 03:47 PM   #24
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,018
Connecting the BXPA1 is very simple. According
to the Digitrax manual instructions you would see
on it INA and INB. you connect your track bus
to these terminals.

You'll see OUTA and OUTB terminals. These go
to your isolated section.

Phase (polarity) not important as the unit sets that
itself.

You'll need two of these units, one for each isolated
section.

I see by your photo that the X where the isolated
sections are is quite small. You may have short
circuiting problems due this.

If you do, let us know and perhaps we can create
other isolated sections.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 04:56 PM   #25
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
THANKS!
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 09:44 PM   #26
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
Connecting the BXPA1 is very simple. According
to the Digitrax manual instructions you would see
on it INA and INB. you connect your track bus
to these terminals.
You'll see OUTA and OUTB terminals. These go
to your isolated section.
Phase (polarity) not important as the unit sets that
itself.
You'll need two of these units, one for each isolated
section.
I see by your photo that the X where the isolated
sections are is quite small. You may have short
circuiting problems due this.
If you do, let us know and perhaps we can create
other isolated sections.
Don
I did connect bxpa to dcs50 and it worked. However when second bxpa was connected loop stop functioning.
Is it enough power in DCS50 for 2 bxpa?
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:22 AM   #27
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,018
Not sure exactly what you mean when you say the
2nd reverse controller stopped functioning.

Did the DCS50 controller show 'short circuit'? How did you
know that reverse controller 'stopped'?

Again there must be a wiring problem. Your DCS50 has
more than enough power for 2 reverse loop controllers.

Recheck that the IN terminals are connected to
the DCS50 (or to the track bus), and the OUT terminals
are connected to the isolated section.

Are you sure you have insulated joiners in both
rails at both ends of EACH isolated section?

As I mentioned in an earlier post, your isolated
sections appear to be quite short. Was there a
train on the isolated section tracks when the
problem occurred?

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 12:03 PM   #28
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
Not sure exactly what you mean when you say the 2nd reverse controller stopped functioning.

Did the DCS50 controller show 'short circuit'? - HOW DID THIS LOOKS LIKE?

How did you know that reverse controller 'stopped'? - LOCO DID STOP ON INSULATED TRACK.

Again there must be a wiring problem.

Your DCS50 has more than enough power for 2 reverse loop controllers. - THANKS!

Recheck that the IN terminals are connected to the DCS50 (or to the track bus), and the OUT terminals are connected to the isolated section.

Are you sure you have insulated joiners in both rails at both ends of EACH isolated section? - YES

As I mentioned in an earlier post, your isolated sections appear to be quite short. Was there a train on the isolated section tracks when the problem occurred? - NO. JUST LOCO.

Don
THANKS!
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 01:17 PM   #29
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,018
I am not familiar with the actual operation of
the DSC50, but it's manual states that a
'short circuit' is indicated by a series of 0's
moving across the screen from left to right.

Did you see those when the loco stopped in the
isolated section? Was the loco spanning the
insulated joiners?

If you have a multimeter, set it to AC and put
the probes on the rails IN the isolated section that
is a problem after you remove the loco from the
track. You should see around 14 volts.
If you don't see that, there is not feed from the
reverse controller to the isolated section. Some
wire is amiss.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 02:16 PM   #30
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Don, you are concentration on a wrong idea.
I am more or less experienced EM engineer and could not mess with wiring (in theory).

As I realized now, one of mine BXPA1 stop working - no red/green light, which I guess signal of occupancy.

Again, is it possible that when I connected both BXPA1 to DCS50 something was happens to its software? How people do troubleshooting BXPA1?

I am attaching pics with temp test bed for 2 autorev loops.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20190416_145805865.jpg (3.91 MB, 1 views)
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.