Occupancy detection, etc. hardware recommendations - Page 4 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2019, 04:24 PM   #31
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,911
'

As you are using it, the BXPA is a reverse loop
controller. To test it, connect the track bus to
the two IN terminals. Connect a short wire to
each of the two OUT terminals. Use your meter
set to AC. If the unit is correctly set, you should
see around 14 volts on the two OUT wires. Then
to test that it is switching phase (polarity), keep
your meter on the out wires and put a momentary
but quick short across the wires. The unit is
sensitive to a short and thus will do a very fast
phase reverse. Your meter should show that the
phase changed. If it did, then the unit it working
correctly.

I'm not familiar with the various possibilities of the
BXPA. You might re=read the manual to see that
it is set to be used as a reverse loop controller rather
than a circuit breaker, which seems it may be doing from
your description.

Since your other BXPA is working correctly, you might
compare the settings to make certain they are
the same on the problem BXPA.

When the loco wheels span the insulated joiners
there is a short, the BXPA reverses phase. The loco
continues and when the wheels span the exit
insulated joiners there is another short and
the BXPA again reverses phase to
match the main track.

Digitrax has excellent service. If your tests indicate that
the unit may be defective, go to their website and
use their service. They may be slow in responding, they
had serious damage to their buildings from the recent
hurricane that devestated Panama City, Fl. where they
are located.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2019, 04:33 PM   #32
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
'

As you are using it, the BXPA is a reverse loop controller. To test it, connect the track bus to the two IN terminals. Connect a short wire to each of the two OUT terminals. Use your meter
set to AC. If the unit is correctly set, you should see around 14 volts on the two OUT wires. Then to test that it is switching phase (polarity), keep your meter on the out wires and put a momentary but quick short across the wires. The unit is
sensitive to a short and thus will do a very fast phase reverse. Your meter should show that the phase changed. If it did, then the unit it working correctly.
I'm not familiar with the various possibilities of the BXPA. You might re=read the manual to see that it is set to be used as a reverse loop controller rather than a circuit breaker, which seems it may be doing from your description.
Since your other BXPA is working correctly, you might compare the settings to make certain they are the same on the problem BXPA. When the loco wheels span the insulated joiners there is a short, the BXPA reverses phase. The loco continues and when the wheels span the exit insulated joiners there is another short and the BXPA again reverses phase to match the main track.
Digitrax has excellent service. If your tests indicate that the unit may be defective, go to their website and use their service. They may be slow in responding, they had serious damage to their buildings from the recent hurricane that devestated Panama City, Fl. where they are located.
Don
Thanks Don!
Unit was sent back to Digitrax
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20190416_165227688ed.jpg (2.48 MB, 3 views)
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 03:56 PM   #33
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,911
I assume your tests of the reverse controller showed
it to be defective since you are returning it to Digitrax.

The wiring diagram that you show in your last
post is correct as to the reverse loop controllers.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-17-2019, 05:50 PM   #34
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
I assume your tests of the reverse controller showed
it to be defective since you are returning it to Digitrax.
The wiring diagram that you show in your last
post is correct as to the reverse loop controllers.
Don
Also I have notice that DSC50 produced ~23.8V when started, and a few minutes later only 14.8-15V.

Is it normal or my DCS50 is broken (defective)?
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 09:33 AM   #35
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,911
The 14.8 volts would be the norm for the output
of a DCC controller.

The electronic experts may have an answer as to
why your controller put out a much higher voltage
initially. Was there a loco on the track when you
observed the high voltage? The no load may be a factor.

I've never had a volt meter connected when I
powered up my controller. I have never seen a variation in light brightness. Double the normal voltage would certainly
cause loco and car lights to go very bright and likely
burn out.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 11:28 AM   #36
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
The 14.8 volts would be the norm for the output of a DCC controller.
The electronic experts may have an answer as to why your controller put out a much higher voltage initially. Was there a loco on the track when you observed the high voltage? The no load may be a factor.
I've never had a volt meter connected when I powered up my controller. I have never seen a variation in light brightness. Double the normal voltage would certainly cause loco and car lights to go very bright and likely burn out.
Don
High voltage is observed with or without "load". Locos are fine. but I am afraid for another electronic connected to DCS....
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 03:00 PM   #37
Hobbytronics
Hobo
 
Hobbytronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 25
Scales Modeled: HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronatu View Post
High voltage is observed with or without "load". Locos are fine. but I am afraid for another electronic connected to DCS....
Is that something the DCS unit does. The voltage does not change when a load is applied?
__________________
I Design and sell Model Railroad Electronic Stuff.

[email protected] | http://hobbytronics.sytes.net | YouTube: Hobbytronics Please subscribe if you visit my channel, Thank You!
Hobbytronics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 03:46 PM   #38
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,911
This high 'start up' voltagze may be another situation you should discuss with Digitrax.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 07:15 PM   #39
ronatu
Hobo
 
ronatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobbytronics View Post
Is that something the DCS unit does. The voltage does not change when a load is applied?
What exactly DCS50 does??
Load was light 0.1-0.2V drop
ronatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.