beginning dcc - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2019, 10:53 AM   #1
Paul sabato
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: buffalo,ny
Posts: 6
Scales Modeled: ho
beginning dcc

I have a basic inside-outside oval with switches to move from inside to outside or the other way. I want to set up dcc. any suggestion regarding what system to use.
Paul sabato is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2019, 12:07 PM   #2
gregc
Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: somerset, nj
Posts: 829
do you think you'll have a bigger layout sometime in the future?
gregc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 01:13 PM   #3
mesenteria
Dispatcher
 
mesenteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Comox, BC
Posts: 1,396
Get the basic starter set like a Digitrax Zephyr or similar NCE product. You will quite possibly expand some in the next several years IF you stick with the hobby. If so, you'll likely want at least 3 amps working for you, and the starter systems mostly provide that. After that basic requirement, the rest is how you feel about the features, the way it feels in your hands, its looks, how easy the manual is to make sense of, etc.
mesenteria is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-20-2019, 02:07 PM   #4
D&J Railroad
Station Master
 
D&J Railroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,568
Scales Modeled: HO only and some G scale stuff for display
Look carefully at the programming features. You will certainly need to do that as you acquire DCC locomotives and taking them to a hobby shop or someone else can get old real fast.
__________________
Ken
Chief Operator and creator of the D&J Railroad
D&J Railroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:25 PM   #5
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,020
There are four major suppliers of DCC systems:
Digitrax, NCE, MRC and Bachmann EZ. All are
quality products and would be sufficient to
run almost any layout. All but Bachmann are
full featured and all but Bachmann can do fine tune work on
decoders.

Don
DonR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:31 PM   #6
timlange3
Conductor
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 289
First thought, will you be operating on someone else's road? If so, buy what they have so can bring your own controller and be familiar on how to operate. Second, buy what suits you in feel and capability. Third, if possible, operate before you buy, at hobby shops and at others railroads. Visit shows to also get a feel for the different systems.
timlange3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 04:26 PM   #7
CTValleyRR
Train Master
 
CTValleyRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: East Haddam, CT
Posts: 8,344
Scales Modeled: HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlange3 View Post
First thought, will you be operating on someone else's road? If so, buy what they have so can bring your own controller and be familiar on how to operate. Second, buy what suits you in feel and capability. Third, if possible, operate before you buy, at hobby shops and at others railroads. Visit shows to also get a feel for the different systems.
That's your best advice, right there.

The differences in the systems are ergonomic, procedural, and aesthetic. They all do the same things, and do them well.

Try as many as you can, and get the one that feels best to you.
__________________
Connecticut Valley Railroad -- A Branch of the New York, New Haven, And Hartford

"We don't stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing." --George Bernard Shaw
CTValleyRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 05:37 PM   #8
Paul sabato
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: buffalo,ny
Posts: 6
Scales Modeled: ho
Thanks for the help. I don't think I will be adding to this layout. It is an old layout that sat idle for about 20yrs. I'm trying to get it going again. No I won't be using anyone else's layout. My plan is to control 3-4engines plus 4 switches.
Paul sabato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 10:50 PM   #9
mholiver
Hobo
 
mholiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Metairie, LA suburb Nawlins'
Posts: 31
Scales Modeled: HO
because the local club converted their large layout from DC to DCC using NCE, I'm going with their basic Power Cab 2 amp system which is like $200. they say the 2 amps can handle 4 engines. the next upgrade is 5 amps.
I don't know if chicken or the egg, but all the other friend's layouts are also NCE vast most are club members.
there are a lot of youtube videos on DCC systems and where and how to start. Digitrax or NCE seem to be the decision to make.
__________________
be safe & best rgds,
Mike
in Nawlins'
"Live Like Ya Dying"
mholiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 11:09 AM   #10
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,020
Mike

Apparently NCE is being very cautious in saying that
their 2 amp DCC system can handle 4 locos. Well, I
guess. My 1 amp Bachmann EZ can easily handle
4 locos plus.

A HO loco running at a normal speed should draw
around .3 or .4 of an amp. Of course, sound locos
do draw a good deal more.

Don
DonR is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.