Circuit breaker blows - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2019, 07:03 PM   #11
charter.pa
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: newport pa
Posts: 73
2 is the second from the far left. I flipped the red and black wire on the out put side of the breaker.
charter.pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2019, 09:25 AM   #12
charter.pa
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: newport pa
Posts: 73
This problem has NOT been fixed, it moved locations. Now only breaker 2 trips when crossing into breaker 1. Breaker 1 does not trip. I reversed the output wires on breaker 1 and it didn't correct the problem. There is a new version Shinohara double crossover that connects blocks 1 and 2. The frogs are insulated in plastic and the center of the switch is also insulated. I have read up a little on these crossovers but they are Peco not Shinohara. As soon as the front wheels cross the insulated line up the middle is where it stops and trips breaker. The engine does not stall or hesitate when going thru the first frog. I am not sure if the breakers are out of phase or is the switch out of phase.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC02930.JPG (2.32 MB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg DSC02933.JPG (2.65 MB, 3 views)
charter.pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 09:26 AM   #13
gregc
Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: somerset, nj
Posts: 829
do you have a reversing section?
gregc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-06-2019, 09:33 AM   #14
charter.pa
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: newport pa
Posts: 73
I do. It is not wired in yet. I still have to work on block 5 and the reverse sections.
charter.pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 10:09 AM   #15
charter.pa
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: newport pa
Posts: 73
I found an article by G. Galyon covering the Shinohara. Throw all four switches at the same time eliminates crossed phase. I did this and the engine went right thru with no problem. I will wire 4 tortises to switch at the same time from a single toggle.
charter.pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.