Frog Juicers - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2019, 12:13 PM   #1
Duck52
Hobo
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bend, Or
Posts: 15
Frog Juicers

New and confused. Set up(Already purchased)
NCE PowerCab , NCE AutoSW (Program Track Auto switch) and CP6 Circuit Protector.
Have made the decision to power the frogs (Peco EF) with Tam Valley Hex Juicers. Tam Valley recommends that the frog power be pulled ahead of the circuit protection as many circuit breakers can compete with the juicer.
I sent a note to NCE asking if I should pull the frog power ahead of or behind the AutoSW. They replied with concern about powering the frogs ahead of the CP6.
Looking for real world knowledge/experience on this situation.
Duck52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2019, 01:01 PM   #2
gregc
Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: somerset, nj
Posts: 768
my understanding is that a frog juice is essentially half an auto-reverser (some use it as such). When it detects a short and quickly reverses the polarity of the frog.
gregc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 01:24 PM   #3
D&J Railroad
Station Master
 
D&J Railroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,518
Scales Modeled: HO only and some G scale stuff for display
Not sure why a frog juicer would be better than using the contacts of a Tortoise Machine.
__________________
Ken
Chief Operator and creator of the D&J Railroad
D&J Railroad is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-04-2019, 01:30 PM   #4
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,909
The Peco Electrofrog can be set to have the
points position change the frog power. Is there
a reason you are not using this feature?

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 02:27 PM   #5
CV-62
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: NoWhere
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
The Peco Electrofrog can be set to have the
points position change the frog power. Is there
a reason you are not using this feature?

Don
Don, maybe he is cutting those little jumpers cause he is worried about getting a short between the stock and point rail? Of course, this now results in a situation known as the "Dead Frog Syndrome". It is not fatal, but has been known to cause cases of extreme anxiety and frustration. Just kidding of course. Hence the Frog Juicer to re-power the frog rails. Why expensive Juicers in this scenario, not sure. Personally I would use the contacts off a motor or Caboose Industries ground throw.

It is this exact scenario that has me using the UniFrogs. Still have to power the frogs with the method of your choosing but no potential issues with that rail shorting thingy. Or......just make sure that frog wire is under the table and then do nothing and see if there is a problem and save some money.

As I am still learning this trade, I thought I would throw this out and see what others think.

Cheers.
CV-62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 04:31 PM   #6
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,909
CV

I use Peco Insulfrogs so have no actual experience
with the Electrofrogs, however, posts to MTF have not
really indicated any unusual shorting problems except that
both frog rails must be insulated from the adjoining
rails. I agree, however, the new Peco models should resolve
most problems.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 05:01 PM   #7
CV-62
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: NoWhere
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
CV

I use Peco Insulfrogs so have no actual experience
with the Electrofrogs, however, posts to MTF have not
really indicated any unusual shorting problems except that
both frog rails must be insulated from the adjoining
rails. I agree, however, the new Peco models should resolve
most problems.

Don
Yes, sir, except one. Unless things have changed in the last few weeks, they are still only available in medium straight configuration. The medium is fine, but I sure wish I could get a few of them in the curved config.
CV-62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.