Whistle Billboards - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > S Scale
Forgotten your password?

S Scale Get in here if you want the lowdown on S scale!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2019, 08:59 AM   #1
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,306
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
Whistle Billboards

Asking if these can be powered by a DC transformer like most steamers can run on AC or DC. I have run a few steamers on DC and can not see any difference in performance.
mopac is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2019, 10:03 AM   #2
BrokeCurmudgeon
Dispatcher
 
BrokeCurmudgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Riverton Utah
Posts: 1,384
Scales Modeled: N Scale and some American Flyer S Scale
Quote:
Originally Posted by mopac View Post
Asking if these can be powered by a DC transformer like most steamers can run on AC or DC. I have run a few steamers on DC and can not see any difference in performance.
Al, I will try it later on today.
__________________
"Take my advice because I don't use it!"
Fred
BrokeCurmudgeon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 10:22 AM   #3
AmFlyer
Dispatcher
 
AmFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 1,426
Scales Modeled: S gauge
DC is fine, they use universal motors.
__________________
Tom
AmFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-09-2019, 03:41 PM   #4
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,306
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
Thanks Tom. Motor does look similar to the steamer motors just a bit smaller. I have a few DC transformers from my HO days. Might try it.

Broke, you might have a DC transformer from your N scale endeavor. Try it on your steamers and see if you can get some slower running. I don't know where the start voltage is but got to be better than 7 volts. I know AF made their transformers start at 7 volts because that is what it takes to change reverse unit. But it is too high of a start voltage for me.
mopac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:05 PM   #5
AmFlyer
Dispatcher
 
AmFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 1,426
Scales Modeled: S gauge
Check the VA rating first. Make sure the DC powerpack is at least 35VA to run a steam engine with smoke.
__________________
Tom
AmFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.