Rebuilding 312...what is this part? - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > S Scale
Forgotten your password?

S Scale Get in here if you want the lowdown on S scale!

Old 06-22-2019, 01:35 PM   #1
shaker281
Brakeman

Rebuilding 312...what is this part?

Hi folks,

I am new to site and just started rebuilding a 312 locomotive that I have from childhood. So, not very experienced and this is pretty new to me. I have an almost complete All Aboard Pioneer 600 set and a late 50s Santa Fe Chief ABA set with log loader and this 312 arrangement that I got around 1969 at a garage sale.

All have been stored for nearly 50 years and I am just assessing what exactly I still have. Most is in pretty good shape and I have cleaned and tested my 25w transformer and am looking to buy something a bit bigger too.

I am sure I will have lots of questions, but I would like to start simple. As I was disassembling the 312 locomotive unit for cleaning and lubrication and repair, out fell a small L-shaped spacer (for lack of a better term) with a small unthreaded hole in it. Of course I never saw where it came from. Can anyone tell me where it goes, maybe a part number or AF part name?

Second question is: Although I have cleaned the reverse unit in the tender with contact cleaner, compressed air, alcohol and Q-tips, It still seems to stick in the operated position most of the time, though it releases at the slightest touch or tap. I see no bent tab or slot damage and the solenoid does operate. Any idea why this will stick in the "up" position?

Edit: I am starting to think that the tab seemingly sticking is maybe a non-issue. If the train were running the slightest vibration or movement would cause it to drop into the resting position.