Its a start... - Page 3 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > My Layout
Forgotten your password?

My Layout Showcase your layout here - pictures, projects, progress, whatever!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 10:45 AM   #21
Riggzie
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 298
Scales Modeled: H/O - O
ok so ive got it all laid out in anyrail - need to pay for full version, once I get something sold on ebay for $60...

this will do for now.
but now I can take it all apart and start to build a table.

then im going to get a 6" buffing wheel for my bench grinder and see if that can do well on cleaning track/loco wheels/car wheels...
gonna be a bit as the table wont be cheap and wife will say something. LOL...


Track
14062, 0 Lionel 0, Left turnout 10". (remote) 5
14063, 0 Lionel 0, Right turnout 10". (remote) 5
65500, 0 Lionel 0, Straight 10". 44
65501, 0 Lionel 0, Curve 31", angle 45º 14
65540, 0 Lionel 0, Crossing 8 5/16". 1

Total track length: 68'-7 1/4"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg O-Layout.jpg (434.4 KB, 2 views)
Riggzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2020, 03:01 PM   #22
Riggzie
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 298
Scales Modeled: H/O - O
just used traxeditor.com and wow easy and looks good.
im doing basics so it works... and no track piece limitation!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: png snapshot (3).png (314.0 KB, 6 views)
Riggzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 05:29 PM   #23
ErnestHouse
Conductor
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: SoFla
Posts: 325
Scales Modeled: O
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riggzie View Post
yeah those are pretty eye sore.. other than that..they work. seem fine.

ahhh power drops. i was searching various terms like power block... power for big layouts... and the sort. will check that one now
Track is not work or doesn't work. It's how well does it transmit voltage when it does "work". Rusty pins and track make for higher loss of voltage. That means less power on the other side of that piece of track. Rinse and repeat.


Another term is power districts.
ErnestHouse is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-20-2020, 07:37 PM   #24
Riggzie
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 298
Scales Modeled: H/O - O
so i added a power connector to far back row and far left. made it better but i didnt use the plastic/nylon pins... just supply power to all 3. nothing trips..all runs. so my question.. why does it matter to segregate power blocks?
Im just trying to learn and understand...
thx
Riggzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 08:57 PM   #25
Lemonhawk
Dispatcher
 
Lemonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,883
Scales Modeled: HO
No, however if it does short, its harder to isolate. Your lucky, with 3 rail there are no special reversers needed!
Lemonhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 09:04 PM   #26
Riggzie
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 298
Scales Modeled: H/O - O
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemonhawk View Post
No, however if it does short, its harder to isolate. Your lucky, with 3 rail there are no special reversers needed!
appreciate it. im not trying to be difficult. may come naturally though!!! HAH..

anywho.. so if I buy isolation pins and I only do center.. that's all that is needed?

so I could break up my sections into 6 from what im seeing.

fwiw - I am having an issue. up around the turnaround, I think the 022's have the isolation pins in the wrong spot. gonna have to google that... when I have that top section added, my train doesn't want to move on closest track at all. once I disconnect that section, boom train runs....

so this look about right then?

I will run both hot to center and common to 1 outside rail - just like the utc has it...

light green/yellow is showing tracks cut - nylon pins...
Attached Images
File Type: png Blocks.png (170.2 KB, 2 views)
Riggzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 12:19 PM   #27
Jackets
Hobo
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 9
Scales Modeled: HO
Here is that layout in Anyrail.

I also added some extra parts that may or may not let you adjust the layout. From my tinkering a few weeks ago it seemed that if i started with more then 50 i was fine, i could not add more only use what was provided.

I also used some 65523 40" parts in place of 65500 10" parts

Also note that these parts do no line up perfectly on the second oval in the "X" i had to set a 1/8" and 5* tolerance to make them link.



I will point out that in the second oval (right side) the 2 spurs off the "X" are not accessible as it is.


Can you snap a picture or 2 of the track part in the oval with the crossover "X" and a couple of the platforms the boxcars are on. They look interesting but are hard to see well in the current pictures

Cheers,
Joe
Attached Files
File Type: any Riggzie.any (110.3 KB, 7 views)
Jackets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 01:18 PM   #28
Riggzie
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 298
Scales Modeled: H/O - O
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackets View Post
Here is that layout in Anyrail.

I also added some extra parts that may or may not let you adjust the layout. From my tinkering a few weeks ago it seemed that if i started with more then 50 i was fine, i could not add more only use what was provided.
sweet..thx gonna check it out...

Quote:
I also used some 65523 40" parts in place of 65500 10" parts
yeah I was only using what I physically have as im going to tear it all apart and stack everything up and then can know what I had originally...


Quote:
Also note that these parts do no line up perfectly on the second oval in the "X" i had to set a 1/8" and 5* tolerance to make them link.
interesting

Quote:
I will point out that in the second oval (right side) the 2 spurs off the "X" are not accessible as it is.
not following this... help me understand better?


Quote:
Can you snap a picture or 2 of the track part in the oval with the crossover "X" and a couple of the platforms the boxcars are on. They look interesting but are hard to see well in the current pictures

Cheers,
Joe
I will take some pics of the X.. think I have it on my phone...

not sure what you mean of the platforms the boxcars are on.. it is just an 022 track where 10" pieces and a curve are connected...
Riggzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 01:21 PM   #29
Riggzie
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 298
Scales Modeled: H/O - O
this??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200118_183340_1579890029202.jpg (3.78 MB, 3 views)
Riggzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 01:43 PM   #30
Jackets
Hobo
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 9
Scales Modeled: HO
I have attached 2 images, one showing the platform and ramp.

The other making out the track sections you won't be able to drive a train onto from the rest of the layout.


As for the 40/10" parts its a workaround for the 50 part limit, 4 40's saves you 12 parts to use else where.

Joe

Edit: The misalignment issue in Anyrail is that it keeps things EXACTLY in line, something that can be fudged with on a layouy
Attached Images
File Type: png rail.png (47.2 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg 20200117_194726_1579308461396.jpg (101.8 KB, 23 views)
Jackets is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.