Anyone tried to put an e unit in a Burro Crane? - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
Grandpa Robert
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Skagit
Posts: 4
Anyone tried to put an e unit in a Burro Crane?

I've always wondered why Lionel doesn't come out with a Burro crane with an e unit. I was looking at the new electronic e units on ebay and thought maybe they would fit inside. However it's hard to tell just how big they are from the pictures people post. Anyone ever tried this?
Grandpa Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2012, 08:14 AM   #2
Big Ed
Railroad Tycoon
 
Big Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22,970
Scales Modeled: O right now. HO packed/ small N scale table, G scale for under the Christmas tree, & 1 S locomotive
Images: 1
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpa Robert View Post
I've always wondered why Lionel doesn't come out with a Burro crane with an e unit. I was looking at the new electronic e units on ebay and thought maybe they would fit inside. However it's hard to tell just how big they are from the pictures people post. Anyone ever tried this?

I never had one but have been looking to get one, it is on my wish list.
But I thought it did move forward and in reverse?


http://www.postwarlionel.com/cgi-bin/postwar?ITEM=3360

In this link it says,
Many feel the 3360 is the premium crane car produced during the postwar era. Not only did Lionel's model resemble a real-life Burro crane, but could performed many of the same functions. The crane can travel in forwards or reverse, can stand in a neutral position, the cab can rotate 360 degrees and the hook can raise or lower based upon a unique internal assembly.

That is why I always thought they did move both ways.
__________________
Never Enough Room,Time or Money for all the Trains!
I like ALL SCALES/GAUGE'S, I don't discriminate.

Central Railroad of New Jersey
Big Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:31 AM   #3
Dave Sams
Dispatcher
 
Dave Sams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,154
Scales Modeled: O and 1/8 scale
I have one.

It does move in both directions, but the change in directions is acutated by a lever on the side.

It moves somewhat like a No. 50 gang car.

I have a dedicated track on my table for the little crane and a work caboose.


I've not tried to put an e unit in, but my hand cars do reverse.

I removed the rectifier which made the unit DC only, then converted my track to DC. To change direction, I change the polarity of the track.

It works well, but the little hand cars don't like my 1122 switches much. The work great on my 27" circle.
__________________
If you have a layout, you can keep it. If you have locomotives, you can keep them.

I'm having trouble deciding how to spend all of my Obama Care savings.
Dave Sams is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-12-2012, 08:31 AM   #4
Grandpa Robert
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Skagit
Posts: 4
It does go both ways and the cab swivels around, the boom goes up and down and the hook up and down too, but all by hand. The reverse action is sort-of like the Gang car if you know that one. You can attach to the track a bracket to trip the reversing lever but that's far more limited than an e unit.
Grandpa Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:35 AM   #5
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 10,381
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 280
I'd like to see some of the handcar pictures. The DC feature appears more practical.
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkM...BLo3pJN1FGE1Gg
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:47 AM   #6
Big Ed
Railroad Tycoon
 
Big Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22,970
Scales Modeled: O right now. HO packed/ small N scale table, G scale for under the Christmas tree, & 1 S locomotive
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Sams View Post
I have one.

It does move in both directions, but the change in directions is acutated by a lever on the side.

It moves somewhat like a No. 50 gang car.

I have a dedicated track on my table for the little crane and a work caboose.


I've not tried to put an e unit in, but my hand cars do reverse.

I removed the rectifier which made the unit DC only, then converted my track to DC. To change direction, I change the polarity of the track.

It works well, but the little hand cars don't like my 1122 switches much. The work great on my 27" circle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpa Robert View Post
It does go both ways and the cab swivels around, the boom goes up and down and the hook up and down too, but all by hand. The reverse action is sort-of like the Gang car if you know that one. You can attach to the track a bracket to trip the reversing lever but that's far more limited than an e unit.

OK Thanks, I never knew that.

I just always assumed that they had an e unit.
I am guessing that there is not enough room in the cab then?

I guess I never read the link page I posted, as it says this,

Also included with the 3360 was one track activator. This track activator is different in size compared to the more common track activator for the 55 Tie-Jector car.


You think they would have included at least 2 of the activators.
And made them the same size as the Tie-Jector.

Live & learn.
__________________
Never Enough Room,Time or Money for all the Trains!
I like ALL SCALES/GAUGE'S, I don't discriminate.

Central Railroad of New Jersey
Big Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:53 AM   #7
Grandpa Robert
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Skagit
Posts: 4
Not enough room for a mechanical e unit for sure
Grandpa Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #8
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,890
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
You might be able to squeeze a Dallee electronic E-Unit into one of those.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 01:55 PM   #9
Dave Sams
Dispatcher
 
Dave Sams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,154
Scales Modeled: O and 1/8 scale
T-Man, here you go

DC track demo



DC is quieter too, e units and switches don't buzz.
__________________
If you have a layout, you can keep it. If you have locomotives, you can keep them.

I'm having trouble deciding how to spend all of my Obama Care savings.
Dave Sams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 02:33 PM   #10
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,890
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
My electronic E-Units make no sounds at all.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
burro crane , e unit


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.