Anyone tried to put an e unit in a Burro Crane? - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 06:30 PM   #11
T-Man
Yard Master & Research
 
T-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 10,381
Scales Modeled: Lionel, S, HO
Images: 280
The video is great but I wanted the motor pictures with connections to a rectifier or are they DC motors to begin with?
__________________
"T" stands for
Trains, Track, Trestles, and more Trains

How-To Column and Signature links Post number 4.


Links under O Scale Information


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkM...BLo3pJN1FGE1Gg
T-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2012, 06:40 PM   #12
Grandpa Robert
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Skagit
Posts: 4
thanks for the tip John about the Dallee, their photo shows it next to a dime so i can get a sense if it would fit, it does look small enough. I still would like to hear from someone who's done this

dallee.com/e_units.htm
Grandpa Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:38 PM   #13
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,890
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Well, there's no doubt that the Dallee E-Unit will do the job, I'd just cut yourself a model of the board size and height and see if you can fit it into the shell.
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-12-2012, 09:02 PM   #14
Dave Sams
Dispatcher
 
Dave Sams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,154
Scales Modeled: O and 1/8 scale
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Man View Post
The video is great but I wanted the motor pictures with connections to a rectifier or are they DC motors to begin with?
The handcar has a DC can motor. There is a small rectifier with the AC leads soldered to the frame and pickup. The DC leads then go to the motor. I removed the rectifier.

The ballast tamper had a rectifier in it, which I installed from a kit. The kit converted the AC/DC motor (universal) to a DC motor.

Here are the instructions that came with it, 20 years ago.



For $11.95, I got a rectifier and the instructions. But, I did learn how to make the conversion, and, the store owner told me how to make a converter for the transformer.

I used the largest rectifier sold at the Shack and a capacitor. The AC leads go to the transformer and the DC leads go to the track. The capacitor bridges the DC leads and helps boost the voltage.

A DPDT switch then is used between the AC/DC converter and the track to change the direction of travel.


BTW, I'm careful not to run the ballast tamper in reverse while in "tamping" mode. There are cams which would destroy the tamper action. For this reason, I did not attempt to convert the Burrow.
__________________
If you have a layout, you can keep it. If you have locomotives, you can keep them.

I'm having trouble deciding how to spend all of my Obama Care savings.

Last edited by Dave Sams; 02-12-2012 at 09:04 PM..
Dave Sams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
burro crane , e unit


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.