HELP! Wiring on Gantry crane controllers. New Model 4 Old - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2018, 09:38 AM   #1
Chi_Twn_Luv
Hobo
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 14
Unhappy HELP! Wiring on Gantry crane controllers. New Model 4 Old

HELP! I purchased a Gantry crane and the controller didn't have a "lock" for the magnet. So I purchased an older model control which had the lock option. After spending a couple hours tracing leads and trying to match the action from the wiring of the controls then trying different combinations to try to get it to work I got nothing. I know the crane works with the new model controller, and after getting frustrated with the wiring I just put the new model controller back in. But I REALLY want to get the old model version working.

The pics attached are the controllers and their associated solder points/circuit boards.

I'm a NOVICE when it comes to wiring, so any help in basic pictures or drawings would genuinely be appreciated. THANK YOU!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6925.jpg (1.47 MB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6926.jpg (1.67 MB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6923.jpg (1.75 MB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6924.jpg (1.56 MB, 1 views)
Chi_Twn_Luv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2018, 11:20 AM   #2
Fabforrest
Dispatcher
 
Fabforrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Winter Park, Fl
Posts: 1,721
I wanted to do that once for the same reason (no magnet lockj and was advised by a repair expert that they were incompatible. IIRC it was a power issue. I will see if I can find his response.
Fabforrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 11:29 AM   #3
Chi_Twn_Luv
Hobo
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 14
DAMN! I hope that's not the case. Thanks for the response!
Chi_Twn_Luv is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-07-2018, 04:17 PM   #4
tootle
Gang Labourer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 55
Scales Modeled: O
It appears the two are indeed not compatible. If you look at the newer controller you'll note there are four diodes that become part of the motor circuits when the levers are engaged. (Diagram attached) Those diodes are missing from the older controller. My guess is the motors are also different between the newer crane and the one that the older controller was attached to originally.

You may want to consider a physical modification to the newer controller that allows you to lock the magnet control in place temporarily. But first, you may wish to consider the downside of a magnet that overheats (and they do get hot) if you neglect to turn it off.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Gantry Crane Schematic.jpg (77.9 KB, 2 views)
tootle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 09:23 AM   #5
Fabforrest
Dispatcher
 
Fabforrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Winter Park, Fl
Posts: 1,721
i can't find the exchange. must have tossed it. do remember it was a no go.
Fabforrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 09:23 AM   #6
Chi_Twn_Luv
Hobo
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootle View Post
It appears the two are indeed not compatible. If you look at the newer controller you'll note there are four diodes that become part of the motor circuits when the levers are engaged. (Diagram attached) Those diodes are missing from the older controller. My guess is the motors are also different between the newer crane and the one that the older controller was attached to originally.

You may want to consider a physical modification to the newer controller that allows you to lock the magnet control in place temporarily. But first, you may wish to consider the downside of a magnet that overheats (and they do get hot) if you neglect to turn it off.
Really hoping that's not the case, the motors can't be that different right? And then the leads seem like they'd engage the same action, isn't it just a matter of connecting the circuit to move the crane? Again, I'm a novice so I'm asking questions to learn something here.
Chi_Twn_Luv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
controller , gantry crane , lionel , wiring


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.