Locomotive manufacturers - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Beginner Q & A
Forgotten your password?

Beginner Q & A If you're new to model trains, stop in here!

Old 02-16-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
AmericanRailfan
Hobo

Scales Modeled: HO and N scale
USA Locomotive manufacturers

So, since I am new to model railroading, I am trying to get a perspective on the various manufacturers of locomotives. I have compiled a list of the various brands that I am aware of and with which I have had some experience.

Kato: Kato seems like they have the right blend of variety, sturdy ruggedness and reliability. They have what I think is a good track system if you don't want to tac down track on your own. They appear, through using friends' layouts, to be built for the most demanding of circumstances.

Atlas: Atlas, from what I can tell, is more expensive and they don't offer the variety that Kato does. That said, what Atlas appears to lack in locomotive variety, they more than make up for with their trackage: they appear to be industry standard in that area.

Atheran: Atheran, appears to be comparable to Kato in the rugged sturdiness department, but like Atlas, is more costly and there seems to be less variety. However, Atheran seems to be the industry standard in rolling stock. Most of the rolling stock available at my local train shop is either Atheran or Atlas, with Atheran leading the the way.

Bachman: I have been told by folks far and wide, to AVOID Bachman locomotives because they are not as rugged or reliable as the other, more prominent brands. However, this seems limited to just their locomotives, as I have heard no complaints about their layout features: structures, road systems, people figures, etc.