Mar Switch anti-derailment wiring?? - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Technical Model Train Forum
Forgotten your password?

Technical Model Train Forum Discussion on advanced technical aspects.

Old 08-05-2010, 06:22 PM   #1
Brooklyn758
Hobo

Scales Modeled: O,o-27
Question Mar Switch anti-derailment wiring??

I'm a newbie . But a quick learning Mc Gyver type one.
i making a layout. No pictures Atm. I understand the "Special Isolated outside rail track". And made 2 correctly and removedpins on both sides of third track . They are right before the switch and i want to use them to trigger the switch . So i wont have derailment. However the train does not trigger them . I have old vintage MAR lines switches . I totally cleaned the and lubicated them and work at 14 volts and less . I have them on a zw transformer on a separate dedicate rail . they both connect to a remote controller and the transformer powers that controller.
they work fine. Except for the derailment safety measure i took. but the anti-derailment modification i did works . But only when i trigger it myself . with a piece of metal. I contact the center rail and the isolated 3rd rail i made. and it works fine.
why does the train not trigger it?? I tried holding the train while power to it .and still no trigger. I s the train using the voltage and the voltage is not high enough to power the train and trigger the switch at that moment?the switch is not isolated from the main track or power . Only the 3rd rail on the track i made before the switch has no contact with the switch or main track .