My 312 PRR K5 will run soon. - Page 4 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > S Scale
Forgotten your password?

S Scale Get in here if you want the lowdown on S scale!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2019, 07:33 AM   #31
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,714
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
Got my chassis from flyernut Monday. Very nice of him to swap a chassis with issues for
for a ready to go chassis. We did not swap motors so I moved my motor to frame flyernut sent this morning and ran it. Runs great. I am getting excited for my 312 to run. It has been idle since 1955. In storage. Saw something for first time. My motor has slotted brushes, but it is not a slotted brush motor. Runs fine though. I will change them out soon. Armature face needs attention, it is very black. But like I said it runs good.
Big thanks to flyernut for the help.
mopac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2019, 01:44 PM   #32
flyernut
Yard Master
 
flyernut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williamson NY
Posts: 5,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by mopac View Post
Got my chassis from flyernut Monday. Very nice of him to swap a chassis with issues for
for a ready to go chassis. We did not swap motors so I moved my motor to frame flyernut sent this morning and ran it. Runs great. I am getting excited for my 312 to run. It has been idle since 1955. In storage. Saw something for first time. My motor has slotted brushes, but it is not a slotted brush motor. Runs fine though. I will change them out soon. Armature face needs attention, it is very black. But like I said it runs good.
Big thanks to flyernut for the help.
Good news... As an after-thought, you should have sent the armature also for a free, refacing job,lol!..Yep, get the shouldered brushes and new springs.. If I would have known all that I could have supplied everything for just a kiss and a hug!!....EEEEEEWWWWWW!!!...lol...
flyernut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 08:43 AM   #33
hjstr6
Gang Labourer
 
hjstr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Seekonk,MA
Posts: 51
Scales Modeled: S
What does K5 stand for?
hjstr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-13-2019, 09:25 AM   #34
cramden
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,261
Scales Modeled: S
The "K" was a letter assigned to the Pacific class locomotives on the Pennsylvania Railroad. This link explains the system that was used. Interesting that Gilbert designed their engine based on only 2 experimental engines vs. the more popular K4's. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pennsy...classification
cramden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:05 PM   #35
hjstr6
Gang Labourer
 
hjstr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Seekonk,MA
Posts: 51
Scales Modeled: S
Thank you very much for that.I thought K5 had something to do with the size of the Gilbert motor. I recently bought a 312 prr K5 on eBay I was wondering whether it had a large motor.
hjstr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:06 PM   #36
AmFlyer
Dispatcher
 
AmFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 1,767
Scales Modeled: S gauge
No large motors in 312's or any other link coupler engine.
__________________
Tom
AmFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:09 PM   #37
hjstr6
Gang Labourer
 
hjstr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Seekonk,MA
Posts: 51
Scales Modeled: S
Thank you. Learning as I go. Love my American flyer trains!
hjstr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:35 PM   #38
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,714
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
cramden has a large motor K5 but I forget the cab number. Maybe 316. Maybe.
They bring big bucks.
mopac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:37 PM   #39
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,714
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
hjstr6, how you doing with posting pics?
mopac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:46 PM   #40
AmFlyer
Dispatcher
 
AmFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 1,767
Scales Modeled: S gauge
Many 316's and all 21115's have large motors. None are cheap. The 5 digits in Ex+ condition with the OB will be at $1,000.
__________________
Tom
AmFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.