My Favorite "Locos" This Week: My New Black Bonnett GP35 Trio - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > O Scale
Forgotten your password?

O Scale Atlas, Bachman, Hornby, K-Line, Lionel and classic toy train discussion.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2019, 02:26 PM   #11
Lee Willis
Train Master
 
Lee Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,248
Scales Modeled: O-Gauge
GRJ - Thanks for the info about the sound. I wish you could turn the sounds off. But I can get used to it, I suppose.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by highvoltage View Post
Mine arrived yesterday . . .
What I did find interesting though is that the unpowered B unit is completely empty. It's just a shell on a frame.
Yes, and my first thought on seeing all the empty space inside when I pulled the hatch (that is over the controls on the powered units) off was, "Wow, this would a great place to hide jewels and money that no one would ever think to look in."
__________________
"If no one has ever done it that way, it might be fun to try."
Lee Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2019, 03:16 PM   #12
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,251
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Who has jewels and money to hide? I can't hide another locomotive in there, so I'm out of luck anyway.

I get quite a few "dummy" locomotives for upgrades to lights, sounds, and even smoke.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 03:57 PM   #13
Rocky Mountaineer
Dispatcher
 
Rocky Mountaineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,401
Heads up on these puppies, folks. Initial experience with them in a Legacy environment is showing the engine ID of these GP-35's can't be reprogrammed. Whether the PGM/RUN switch is set to PGM or RUN, these locomotives fire up like they're ready to head out. And when you set the PGM/RUN switch to PGM and "try" to reprogram the engine ID and hit SET -- nothing happens. Normally, the horn will toot. But with these locomotives, the Railsounds is already fired up... which shouldn't be the case.

Very disappointed that Lionel still hasn't solved this problem. How many different locomotives are gonna be saddled with it, before this gets fixed once and for all?

David
Rocky Mountaineer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-24-2019, 04:26 PM   #14
superwarp1
Dispatcher
 
superwarp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Southwick Ma
Posts: 1,243
Scales Modeled: O scale
It’s almost like the run/program switch isn’t even wired or not plugged into the board or in the wrong socket.
__________________
Regards,

Gary
Long live the Boston & Albany
https://www.youtube.com/user/superwa..._as=subscriber
superwarp1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 04:42 PM   #15
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,251
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
If the RS is already running in either mode, it sounds like they actually have a TMCC signal issue.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 04:49 PM   #16
Rocky Mountaineer
Dispatcher
 
Rocky Mountaineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
If the RS is already running in either mode, it sounds like they actually have a TMCC signal issue.
Yes, John. I thought it was odd that the Railsounds fired up as soon as I gave the track 18volts -- even though the PGM/RUN switch was set to PGM. Usually, when in PGM mode, I don't hear any Railsounds until the SET button is pressed after changing the Engine ID -- and then it's just a quick toot of the horn, not an entire ramp up of the diesel engine sounds. Very odd. But I've been told this is the same symptom displayed by earlier locomotives with the engine ID problem. So apparently here we are again!

David
Rocky Mountaineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 05:03 PM   #17
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,251
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
I confess to not having my hands on any engines with the ID issue. There were some on the shelves at Henning's, but I wasn't looking for any of those, so I didn't bother testing them.

Given the fact that I know of at least three different models that had the same issue, I have to believe a code revision to the basic RCMC base code broke the ID processing. Until they catch and fix them, all of the new stuff will likely have the same problem.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 06:24 PM   #18
Lee Willis
Train Master
 
Lee Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,248
Scales Modeled: O-Gauge
Ahh, Railsounds is on all the time. That explains the weird shuffling noises I don't like.

Ugh.
__________________
"If no one has ever done it that way, it might be fun to try."
Lee Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 06:27 PM   #19
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,251
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Well, in conventional mode, you don't have individual control of parts. Since these are brand new, you can pick up the Lionel BlueTooth phone app and it has individual control of multiple effects.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 06:30 PM   #20
Lee Willis
Train Master
 
Lee Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,248
Scales Modeled: O-Gauge
I don't do no stinkin' bluetooth. We're strictly good old fashioned conventional here. Good enough in 1954, still good enough now.

I'll just live with the shuffling sound. At least its unique.

And its so disappointing that the locos weren't perfect after all, but had a flaw I just didn't pick up on.
__________________
"If no one has ever done it that way, it might be fun to try."
Lee Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.