MTH TIU resetting itself - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Technical Model Train Forum
Forgotten your password?

Technical Model Train Forum Discussion on advanced technical aspects.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2019, 03:42 PM   #1
Tarheelexpress
Hobo
 
Tarheelexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 10
Scales Modeled: N,O,HO, and G
MTH TIU resetting itself

Hi,

I have a Rev L TIU updated to 6.1 firmware that keeps resetting itself. After opening it up and checking to ensure that there were no loose connection. It is still showing TIU error and resetting after being turned on for about 3 minutes. At the power to the AUX port is turned on it blinks one time which represents the TIU channel it’s on, then the red led dims a little and a secondary led and main led start blinking. The secondary led is located at the D1000 fuse( or indicator) on the fsb. Not sure but it seem as though the main board or memory is fried!

Any information regarding this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Robert





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tarheelexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2019, 08:49 PM   #2
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,214
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Well, indications are that it's something with the processor/memory from this description.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 09:45 PM   #3
Tarheelexpress
Hobo
 
Tarheelexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 10
Scales Modeled: N,O,HO, and G
Ok, I’ll be in the market for a new TIU. With the rate that they charge it wouldn’t make sense to get it repaired. These unit have so much potential and yet so many headaches!

Thanks for the response!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tarheelexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 11-17-2019, 09:26 AM   #4
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,214
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Yep, lots of stuff on the TIU I can fix, but when they start doing stuff like that, it's typically the processor/memory. Given those are fine pitch parts many leads, you really need commercial IC handling tools to successfully take them off and get the new one back on. The lights continually blinking sounds like it's continually resetting itself. A long shot is some support component failing, but that would have to be tracked down.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 01:52 PM   #5
Tarheelexpress
Hobo
 
Tarheelexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 10
Scales Modeled: N,O,HO, and G
Thanks for that added information! It was just bugging me that I didn’t know what this issue was.

Thanks again


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tarheelexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 10:03 AM   #6
Tarheelexpress
Hobo
 
Tarheelexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 10
Scales Modeled: N,O,HO, and G
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
Yep, lots of stuff on the TIU I can fix, but when they start doing stuff like that, it's typically the processor/memory. Given those are fine pitch parts many leads, you really need commercial IC handling tools to successfully take them off and get the new one back on. The lights continually blinking sounds like it's continually resetting itself. A long shot is some support component failing, but that would have to be tracked down.


One last thing if I could ask. What would be involved in tracking down the problem? Is there any data sheets out there that I could use to start tracking down the issue? Some schematics of the PCB?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tarheelexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 11:18 AM   #7
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,214
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Schematics? You're trying to be funny now!

Seriously, MTH (and Lionel) jealously guard much of the design information for the products, you aren't going to find schematics for stuff like the TIU or any locomotive electronics. The best you'll do is interconnection diagrams.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 07:44 PM   #8
Tarheelexpress
Hobo
 
Tarheelexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 10
Scales Modeled: N,O,HO, and G
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
Schematics? You're trying to be funny now!

Seriously, MTH (and Lionel) jealously guard much of the design information for the products, you aren't going to find schematics for stuff like the TIU or any locomotive electronics. The best you'll do is interconnection diagrams.


it was worth a try!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tarheelexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.