wiring lights on HO layout. - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > HO Scale
Forgotten your password?

HO Scale Discussion of HO scale model trains.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2019, 07:08 AM   #11
MatroxD
Conductor
 
MatroxD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
Scales Modeled: HO and N
Hey traction!

Ok, I'm going to try and remember everything you spoke on(ugh, tapatalk)..

Anyhew, well, I'm going to"try" and take the current layout with me, but as we know, the chances of not damaging delicate things like the wiring, and all the things like grass, etc.. Well, I'm not holding any hopes at all honestly, thus why I'm saying a "new" layout. I've already thought about the possible expansion "arms" I could add to the "L" that I already have.

Honestly, the yard, I built it with modular in mind. It's 2'x3', and only has, both a single track lead to it, and a single wire lead to everything. It's also connected/ disconnected by a single XT60 connector.

It's just the main 8'x4' that im worried about. But, my thought is, worst case scenario, I can use the board, to basically, and probably cut it in half lengthwise, creating 2 2'x8' to base the new layout around.

And yes, I am for sure thinking about the future with any and all things from now on that I do to any platform that I have. Im taking in all the suggestions, add far as the connectors mentioned, all of your suggestions, definitely the IDE like cables and fascia interface/ versus under the table terminals, e.t.c, and more. All excellent and great stuff! And I thank you all for the thoughts and shares...

You all have given me a ton to think about as usual, and I hope I addressed everything.. Keep it coming if you or anyone else can think of anything(no matter how small). And no, for sure not laughing at age. That's grave, and it's funny how over 40 has passed so quickly..

Sent from my Note 10+ using Tapatalk
MatroxD is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2019, 04:47 PM   #12
traction fan
Station Master
 
traction fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,152
Scales Modeled: N
West Sounds good

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatroxD View Post
Hey traction!

Ok, I'm going to try and remember everything you spoke on(ugh, tapatalk)..

Anyhew, well, I'm going to"try" and take the current layout with me, but as we know, the chances of not damaging delicate things like the wiring, and all the things like grass, etc.. Well, I'm not holding any hopes at all honestly, that's why I'm saying a "new" layout. I've already thought about the possible expansion "arms" I could add to the "L" that I already have.

Honestly, the yard, I built it with modular in mind. It's 2'x3', and only has, both a single track lead to it, and a single wire lead to everything. It's also connected/ disconnected by a single XT60 connector.

It's just the main 8'x4' that im worried about. But, my thought is, worst case scenario, I can use the board, to basically, and probably cut it in half lengthwise, creating 2 2'x8' to base the new layout around.

And yes, I am for sure thinking about the future with any and all things from now on that I do to any platform that I have. Im taking in all the suggestions, add far as the connectors mentioned, all of your suggestions, definitely the IDEAS like cables and fascia interface/ versus under the table terminals, e.t.c, and more. All excellent and great stuff! And I thank you all for the thoughts and shares...

You all have given me a ton to think about as usual, and I hope I addressed everything.. Keep it coming if you or anyone else can think of anything(no matter how small). And no, for sure not laughing at age. That's grave, and it's funny how over 40 has passed so quickly..

Sent from my Note 10+ using Tapatalk


MatroxD;

I'm always glad to hear that my posts, pdf files, & responses have helped someone. That's exactly what they're for.

It sounds like you have things figured out pretty well.

You might look at that 4' x 8' main section from both the top, and bottom. Consider what track, and other difficult-to-move items, are on top, and what wiring, switch machines, etc. are underneath.
Then think about the possibility of dividing the 4'x8' into four 2'x4' sections sometime before your upcoming household moving adventure.
The smaller sections will not only be easier to move, (without bashing into door frames, the walls around corners, etc.the way 8' long ones would.) They will also be more adaptable to a different size/shape space when you have moved. One more benefit of the shorter sections is that they will fit on a table, or workbench, so you can make any repairs, or modifications, in comfort. Until someone has done it both ways, it's hard to appreciate just how much incredibly easier it is to wire, and mount switch machines, with the section upside down on a table, and you seated in a chair. Once you have tried it, I doubt you'll ever want to go back to crawling under the layout, and working above your head. That way really is a lot harder! It's just the only way most model railroaders have ever done it, so they accept it.

If you were to make the cuts along the 2'x4' lines, what, if anything, would be destroyed/ seriously damaged? Would it be better to cut in different spots? Remember to think in terms of random-sized sections, rather than true modules, which are rigidly regulated sizes designed to mate with modules made by other people.
Sections can be whatever size and shape you choose, so plan your cutting in whatever places make the most sense to you. Once you have your cut locations picked out, and marked on the bottom, think about building some 1"x3" frames to support each section, and the electrical connections that will be needed at each boundary between sections. You don't have to actually build the frames, or wire any connectors just yet.

Unless you have picked out the exact location of your railroad in the new house, and been granted a "building permit" by the "domestic authority" (wife) You don't really know what size and shape your "new"/old layout will have to take when you are in your new house.
My layout changed shape, and size, pretty drastically when we moved from a 2 bedroom condo into a 3 bedroom single-family home with an attached garage. Fortunately it was an increase in available space, but my "standard" 4'x16"x16" sections fit just fine, and I was able to build additional sections to fit the space, and the concept of the railroad. Hopefully you will have a similar positive change when you move.

The files below were written for new modelers planning a first layout. I know you're not new, and this may not be your first layout, but you did ask for any info. Section 3&4 of "How to build a better first layout" has some sketches showing how some 4' x 18" sections can be arranged into a layout to fit a small spare room. Those may help, if you wind up using a somewhat similar space.

I may also have already sent these to you. If so, just write it off to my senility and ignore them.

Good Luck & (I normally add "Have fun!" here, but you are moving! Perhaps "My condolences" would be more appropriate! )

Traction Fan

WHERE DO I START rev 4.pdf

1 How to build a better first layout.pdf

2 How to build a better first layout.pdf

3 & 4 How to build a better first layout.pdf

5 How to build a better first layout.pdf

6 How to build a better first layout.pdf

All AboutTurnouts rev 4.pdf

MODEL RAILROADING ON A BUDGET.pdf

Model Railroad Terminology 3.pdf
__________________
To Puget sound, Electrified!

Last edited by traction fan; 11-14-2019 at 09:23 PM..
traction fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:14 PM   #13
MatroxD
Conductor
 
MatroxD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
Scales Modeled: HO and N
Hi Reaction! Whew! You're like me with posts.. But an excellent thing inn my opinion..

Hmmmnnn. That cutting the layout, and all that you mentioned, it has me thinking. I will have to honestly look at it, maybe tomorrow and see where I could possibly do that. It makes much sense honestly.. And im sure it would be easier(I have this mad, bald head scientist image of myself as Dr Gero, working away in the dark), in sections..

And ha! Im lucky that "general" has pretty much said that the basement is mine for all the hobby stuff when iyer commutes to the layout and my tank/ system. Though I may not set up the tank immediately(like in the first year honestly). I'm having to much fun with the RC models once again, and the train. Never, ever expected that combination.

I really am tossing around in my head about cutting it apart now.. lol! Thanks! The general will not be pleased with you my friend.. Nonetheless, it's a great idea!

And your files, they showed little broken squares. Im sure it's crappy Tapatalk. I will PM you with my email, and you can send them there. And thanks!

I hope I touched on everything... I need to go smoke and think on these things. Or maybe in the morning. Like you said, we're don't have anything concrete at all yet, just trying to think well in the future, to not have to last minute mechanical things...

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
MatroxD is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Old 11-17-2019, 02:13 PM   #14
traction fan
Station Master
 
traction fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,152
Scales Modeled: N
West Who is "Reaction?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatroxD View Post
Hi Reaction! Whew! You're like me with posts.. But an excellent thing inn my opinion..

Hmmmnnn. That cutting the layout, and all that you mentioned, it has me thinking. I will have to honestly look at it, maybe tomorrow and see where I could possibly do that. It makes much sense honestly.. And I'm sure it would be easier(I have this mad, bald head scientist image of myself as Dr Gero, working away in the dark), in sections..

And ha! Im lucky that "general" has pretty much said that the basement is mine for all the hobby stuff when iyer commutes to the layout and my tank/ system. Though I may not set up the tank immediately(like in the first year honestly). I'm having to much fun with the RC models once again, and the train. Never, ever expected that combination.

I really am tossing around in my head about cutting it apart now.. lol! Thanks! The general will not be pleased with you my friend.. Nonetheless, it's a great idea!

And your files, they showed little broken squares. Im sure it's crappy Tapatalk. I will PM you with my email, and you can send them there. And thanks!

I hope I touched on everything... I need to go smoke and think on these things. Or maybe in the morning. Like you said, we're don't have anything concrete at all yet, just trying to think well in the future, to not have to last minute mechanical things...

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
MaytroxD;

Who is "Reaction?" My screen name is "Traction Fan," not "Reaction." Maybe "Reaction" is one of those strange critters that inhabit the magical land of autocorrect?
I don't understand why your wife would be upset about the notion of you cutting your layout into sections. Did she help build it, or doesn't want the mess generated by cutting, or what?
I guess after 38 years of marriage, I should know that wives can be upset, even when there is no apparent reason. At least not one apparent to us ignorant males! In any case I'm sorry if I got you into domestic trouble.

Perhaps you might consider buying a real computer to use on this forum, and for whatever else you want to. You don't seem to be very happy with Tapatalk.

Let's see, a "basement." This long-term Californian is jealous of the notion of having a basement! We don't have such things out here in sunny California. On the other hand, we don't have blizzards, "polar vortexes," or driveways & sidewalks in need of shoveling, either. Just the usual earthquakes, mudslides and huge brush fires. You know, normal stuff.

Traction Fan
__________________
To Puget sound, Electrified!
traction fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 02:45 PM   #15
MatroxD
Conductor
 
MatroxD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
Scales Modeled: HO and N
Ha ha! Yes iit was a typo.. You'd think with an 1100.00 phone the keyboard would work 100%.. But I digress..

And oh, I didn't get in trouble yet. I was speaking of the mess it would make and if I didn't clean it up good. That's the only reason she'd be angry with me. She's great about the hobby stuff. I have 5 planes(40" average wingspan on the smallest 2, about 60" on the other two, and my froakie is 25" wingspan), 4 helicopters, with on a 700 class(if I put it on its tail, its about 5 feet tall), I think I have 6 drones that range in size, 1 RC car, the layout, my 220 gallon saltwater system in the basement(180 display tank with 75 gallon sump, and 40 gallon lagoon tub), and my 3d printer. She doesn't complain about all that stuff..

And I have computers for sure( I'm an IT guy), a desktop that I built, 2 laptops, chromebook, and about 10 raspberry pi around the house. It's not that I don't have machines. It's just easier to use tapatalk on my phone honestly.

AMD yeah, it's 6 of one/ half a dozen with location of ones homestead. Always positives and negatives..

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Last edited by MatroxD; 11-17-2019 at 06:14 PM..
MatroxD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 09:12 AM   #16
Empire Builder 76
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 154
You may want to check out this relatively new system by Dwarvin of Mechanichburg, PA. It's a bit pricey, but couldn't be simpler. After tossing a bunch of questions to the owner, Mike, I bought the Lampligher I, though am not yet ready to set it up.

https://dwarvin.com/

Last edited by Empire Builder 76; 11-29-2019 at 02:46 PM..
Empire Builder 76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 03:14 PM   #17
AmtrackJim
Brakeman
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Northeast
Posts: 109
Scales Modeled: HO
When I click on your link nothing comes up as available for dwarvin.com
AmtrackJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 09:55 PM   #18
flyerrich
Conductor
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cheektowaga, NY
Posts: 385
USA

Amtrackjim

try www.dwarvin.com
I found it that way
flyerrich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 02:47 PM   #19
Empire Builder 76
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 154
USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmtrackJim View Post
When I click on your link nothing comes up as available for dwarvin.com
I "fixed" that link. It now works as does the other one.
Empire Builder 76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.