Robins Rails kits - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > General Model Train Forum Discussion > General Model Train Discussion
Forgotten your password?

General Model Train Discussion Mostly anything goes, especially train related!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2019, 12:21 AM   #1
vektor12
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Owatonna
Posts: 30
Robins Rails kits

I bought a Robins Rails kit awhile and the underframe doesn't properly and was wondering would an athearn setup work on it?
vektor12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2019, 07:18 AM   #2
Eilif
Conductor
 
Eilif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Chicago
Posts: 495
Scales Modeled: HO, O, 28mm(1/56)
I'm afraid the answer is maybe.

IIRC, Robin's Rails got their base kits from a couple different sources, which may or may not be roughly compatible with Athearn.

We'd probably need to see pictures or measurements, unless someone knows based on the model designation
__________________
Visit the Chicago Valley Railroad!
Budget Model Railroading and Chicago Trainspotting
Eilif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 06:23 PM   #3
vektor12
Hobo
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Owatonna
Posts: 30
Alright I will have to measurements then, I know very little about this brand since I'm 26 and I'm assuming they have been gone for awhile.
vektor12 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-02-2019, 08:49 PM   #4
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,710
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
I have a few of the Robin Rails kits. I have not put any together yet But I know
they don't go together as easy as an athearn bluebox.
mopac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 02:29 PM   #5
Eilif
Conductor
 
Eilif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Chicago
Posts: 495
Scales Modeled: HO, O, 28mm(1/56)
Measurements are necessary if we're going to help you.

Also do you have any nearby train shows? Bring the body with you and you can probably find an appropriately sized frame on a car for a buck or two in some dealers discount bin.
__________________
Visit the Chicago Valley Railroad!
Budget Model Railroading and Chicago Trainspotting
Eilif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 02:37 PM   #6
riogrande
Conductor
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: northern Virginia
Posts: 363
Scales Modeled: HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by vektor12 View Post
I bought a Robins Rails kit awhile and the underframe doesn't properly ?
Doesn't properly what? Need more info tho understand isssue.

I've got one or two Robins Rails cars (2 bay covered hopper IIRC) and not issues.
riogrande is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.