dcc track feed wires - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2019, 05:31 PM   #1
bristolman2012
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bristol,il
Posts: 131
dcc track feed wires

from the bus what is the longest a track feed wire can be ? using 22 awg for feed wire . ( I have read 12 to 18 inches ) can you go longer if necessary ?
mike
bristolman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2019, 07:01 PM   #2
wvgca
Station Master
 
wvgca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: yorkton, sask
Posts: 2,716
Scales Modeled: HO 1890's
Images: 42
yes, you can easily go twice as long ..
average maximum power draw is 1 amp, solid 22 awg wire is 5 amp limit, stranded is [4 to 6 strands] is 2.4 amp, personally i wouldn't go more than three feet or so, but that's me ..
__________________

wvgca is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 07:08 PM   #3
bristolman2012
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bristol,il
Posts: 131
thank you

that helps , I have enough terminals to feed every 2 ft then . I was testing some track to see how diesel would run , it died about 6 ft from where I alligator clipped juice to the track .
mike
bristolman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-07-2019, 02:21 PM   #4
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 7,975
Mike

There is something wrong if a loco goes dead
six feet down a test track. Even with alligator
clips there should be good electrical conductivity
for way more than 6 feet.

Check the track and loco wheels to make sure
they are clean then check any joiners in the
test length.

It's almost a standard recommendation to have
a track drop every six feet or so. Every two
feet is overkill.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 02:50 PM   #5
bristolman2012
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bristol,il
Posts: 131
track jointers

you were right , had some crappy joiners on layout . will replace ,doing dummy layout and just wanted check how engine would run thru the section I had laid . ill will do as suggested as far as feeders go.
mike
bristolman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 04:20 PM   #6
D&J Railroad
Station Master
 
D&J Railroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,552
Scales Modeled: HO only and some G scale stuff for display
Not sure. There are a few guys here who claim to only use track joiners for years on their garage layouts with no problems.
Myself, I do the overkill and solder drop leads to every piece of track. I only use track joiners to keep the track aligned.
__________________
Ken
Chief Operator and creator of the D&J Railroad
D&J Railroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 12:27 PM   #7
Stumpy
Conductor
 
Stumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 454
Scales Modeled: HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by D&J Railroad View Post
Not sure. There are a few guys here who claim to only use track joiners for years on their garage layouts with no problems.
Myself, I do the overkill and solder drop leads to every piece of track. I only use track joiners to keep the track aligned.
I guess its the same amount of soldering.
Stumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 01:12 PM   #8
bristolman2012
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bristol,il
Posts: 131
track joiners

the one thing I've noticed is there doesn't seem to be any consistency from one joiner to the next as far as force needed to slide on the tracks . trying to find a good way to tighten if too loose .
mike
bristolman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 10:18 AM   #9
[email protected]
Hobo
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9
Scales Modeled: HO
I like to use a feeder for every two pieces of flex track that has solder joiners. Also a feeder after every diverting route of a turnout, especially if they are spur tracks.

Greg
Greg@mnrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.