Model Train Forum banner

Ratio of that craft acrylic paint to make Earthtone

2K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Big Ed 
#1 ·
Hi
I am no artist but my wife has a bunch of that craft acrylic paint and I would like to mix some to make an earthtone color to use on my layout. Anybody have the right ratio of colors to do this?
Thanks
Bill

#4 ·
If you look at the article Ed linked to, you'll see that there is no real answer. Or rather thousands of them. But all earth isn't created equal, either. You have dark brown loamy soils, light tan sandy soils, and reddish clay soils, with dozens of shades in between.

Just start experimenting, and keep track of what you do. Make a color that looks right to you. Don't worry about matching subsequent batches exactly, either. Nature doesn't make consistent shades either.

Also, you might want to invest in some matte medium, to thin the paint (it works much better than water) and get some 2 oz dressing cups with lids. You can store unused paint in these for several days before they dry out, and they make great mixing cups as well.

#7 ·
Don't worry about matching subsequent batches exactly, either. Nature doesn't make consistent shades either.
I would even suggest it is better NOT to perfectly match each batch, just brush the colors together for a blended area and it will look more natural once you get your grasses and weeds in place on top of it. Nothing in nature has a specific shade, even the color of the same kind of grass or trees will be different depending on which side of a hill they grow on.

Just a few thoughts off the top of my head about various shades though...
  • Farm land has richer, darker soil, however good topsoil is very fine and tends to blow away in areas where there isn't a lot of plant growth (revealing more clay-like soil underneath).
  • Land where plants do not grow well is going to be more tan colored, like sand.