I'm just about to give up! - Page 3 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > DCC Forum (Digital Command Control)
Forgotten your password?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2017, 04:11 AM   #21
Magic
Dispatcher
 
Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Reno Nv.
Posts: 2,002
Scales Modeled: HO 1950s Southern Pacific in So. California.
These are 1/2 axles that press into a plastic hub so no insulators present.
Thanks again for all the help mopac.

Magic
__________________
The Magic RR build thread.
New layout starts at page 7.
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=22525
Magic is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2017, 09:07 AM   #22
mopac
Station Master
 
mopac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,902
Scales Modeled: HO mainly, N, S, O, G
I should have known that with athearns. Its something to remember on some other engines.
mopac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 05:50 AM   #23
Magic
Dispatcher
 
Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Reno Nv.
Posts: 2,002
Scales Modeled: HO 1950s Southern Pacific in So. California.
Well I decided to take the good advice offered here and attack one problem at a time.

Atlas answered my E Mail promptly and I've got an RA number so into the mail goes my RS11 on Monday.
Since I'll be there anyway I'll also send the 402D back to Digitrax for repair. Two items down.

The DCC problem with my washing machine seems to have cured itself and cloths washing has resumed

That's the good news and now for the bad.

I wear sweatpants around the house and I was mixing some glue for some scenery work and spilled some on my pants.
Into the wash they went, that's how I found out the washer was working .

Doing this also solved another problem, namely the cell phone not working right. It isn't working at all now.
Forgot it was in the sweatpants and into the washer it went.
It's drying out on a heater vent now, we'll see.

On to the GP9
Got the wheels replaced today, made sure they were in gauge with a NMRA gauge and the gear was centered.
Lubed the axles with Conducta lube and cleaner.
Cleaned all the old lube from the bearings with 91% alcohol and let dry.
Check the gear lube and cleaned out excess and added a little Red and Tacky.
The gears looked good and are not binding or anything like that.

I did not take the shell off or solder any wires. Doing one thing at a time.

Once everything was checked I put it back together and went to test it.

Started by testing it in the yard and it handled all the turnouts just fine, on to the mainline it went.
Ran great and than I gave it the wiggle test, one set of wheels off the track and wiggled the powered ones,
this is where it failed before. Passed with flying colors.
Looking good.

Now for the bad news. With the loco not stalling on turnouts anymore I decided to give it a good run test.
It made about 15 laps on the mainlines and than stopped dead. Sounds and lights working but won't move.
Put it on the programing track to do a reset and it won't read any CVs. Dead as a door nail. One step forward and two back.

Got the 8 pounder warming up next to the now drying cell phone.

Got a good decoder in the loco I destroyed the truck on (5634) so I have to decide if I want to replace the decoder on 5622 or replace the wheels on 5624.
Maybe I should use 5623 and try an odd number.

Anyway here is a pic of the bottom cover that gave me so much trouble.
You can see the little latch thingies in the corners, these lock over pins in the truck frame.
Takes an Xacto knife to release them, just pry outward from the bottom. Easy to do once you know what to look for.
The side frames just pry outward at the center to separate them to remove the axles.
GP9 cover.JPG

The 4 straight pins towards the center lock the side frames in place. It was these that I thought were the cover locking pins and was working to release these. Stupid is as stupid does.

I'll take a look at all this tomorrow and see what happens but for now it's off to bed.

Magic
__________________
The Magic RR build thread.
New layout starts at page 7.
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=22525
Magic is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-27-2017, 07:01 PM   #24
flyboy2610
Dispatcher
 
flyboy2610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 1,879
Scales Modeled: HO, too blind and fumble fingered for N
"Well, Jane, it just goes to show ya it's always something. If it ain't one thing it's another. Either your washing machine takes a dump on ya, or it eats your cell phone."
Something Roseanne Roseannadanna might have said.
__________________
"If the women don't find ya handsome, they should at least find ya handy!"
Red Green
http://theworldasiseeit-flyboy2610.b...-i-see-it.html
flyboy2610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 08:03 PM   #25
rkenney
Dispatcher
 
rkenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,772
Scales Modeled: O, O27, N, STD Gauge
Wipe Sweat From Brow

"C'est la vie", say the old folks, it goes to show you never can tell
rkenney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 12:09 AM   #26
ExONRcarman
Conductor
 
ExONRcarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: cochrane
Posts: 480
One thing ive learned as a newbie, try try again. us mechanics are a stubborn bunch. we will win!

good luck. dont give up brother.

p.s. if it comes down to it ill rewire, clean and return your locos.
ExONRcarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 01:55 AM   #27
Magic
Dispatcher
 
Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Reno Nv.
Posts: 2,002
Scales Modeled: HO 1950s Southern Pacific in So. California.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExONRcarman View Post
One thing ive learned as a newbie, try try again. us mechanics are a stubborn bunch. we will win!

good luck. dont give up brother.

p.s. if it comes down to it ill rewire, clean and return your locos.

Thanks for the offer.
So many helpful folks here, great board.

The cell was no big loss as it didn't work right anyways.
It did come out nice and clean.
Replaced it with a simple flip phone, I only use it for calls anyway, no text and such.

What's got me worried is why am I loosing so many decoders?
Going to re read all the tips here and see if I can find a problem.

We'll see what happens.

Magic
__________________
The Magic RR build thread.
New layout starts at page 7.
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=22525
Magic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 09:16 AM   #28
ExONRcarman
Conductor
 
ExONRcarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: cochrane
Posts: 480
Dont use you loco as a parts donor just yet. look on ebay. i searched "lots ho" and found several batches of dead or parts loco lots. fair pricing. see if you can find a replacement part that way.

You said your set up was in an out building, any unusual moisture/dampness or heat that may affect power sources or circuit boards?

good luck!
ExONRcarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 11:48 AM   #29
Overkast
Dispatcher
 
Overkast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 1,102
Scales Modeled: HO, currently N
Magic, sorry to hear you're having so many problems lately. How frustrating!!!

In regards to this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic View Post
With the loco not stalling on turnouts anymore I decided to give it a good run test.
It made about 15 laps on the mainlines and than stopped dead. Sounds and lights working but won't move.
I had a similar issue on an N Scale Atlas GP38 loco I bought used. I did a thorough review on the cleaning and modification work in another thread here, but to summarize this particular issue – I had to remove the shell and run the loco chassis and mess with the motor while powered / running to eventually discover the problem. Even thought the loco would stop running, the lights still worked, so I knew the decoder wasn't fried and that it was still getting power.

Long story short, turns out the motor was loose in the chassis frame, and if it shifted to the side ever so slightly it would kill the motor – almost like a short circuit, but just to the motor and not the entire unit!

So, the magic fix was for me to wedge a toothpick underneath the motor to keep it in place and to prevent it from shifting. I never did figure out what the real issue was (short circuit or something else), but I don't care as long as the toothpick works (and it does).

Godspeed my friend!
__________________
My Layout: New England Model Railroad (NEMR)
Overkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 11:55 AM   #30
jlc41
Engineer
 
jlc41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 984
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 20
Magic, sorry to hear about the problems you are having. I admire your layout work and the stories that go with it. Am glad to hear you are making progress. As for all the wires being back on your Atherns locos maybe you could put a drop of color on them as you figure out which are which. But as has been said by all don,t give up, take a break and logically go after one thing at a time. I know you will figure this out as you already have started to. As for the 8 pounder wipe it down and put it back in it's place.
jlc41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.