New Product! DC/DCC Switch Panel with Fascia Panel - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Market Place > Product Promotion
Forgotten your password?

Product Promotion If you are a vendor with a nifty product please post here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2019, 08:49 AM   #11
KE4NYV
Hobo
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
I fixed the pictures.
Thank you! Can you tell me what was wrong? I'm used to using the [ img ] [ /img ] (no spaces) tags and just putting the URL to the image between them. Works on other forums, but didn't want to work here. I would like to know so I can avoid making work for someone else (you).

Thanks!
KE4NYV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2019, 08:57 AM   #12
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,243
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
I can't say, they just wouldn't link that way. I ended up downloading then and then uploading them direct to the forum. That's the sure-fire way to get graphics to display here, there are occasional issues linking from websites, however most of the time it does work.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 08:59 AM   #13
KE4NYV
Hobo
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
I can't say, they just wouldn't link that way. I ended up downloading then and then uploading them direct to the forum. That's the sure-fire way to get graphics to display here, there are occasional issues linking from websites, however most of the time it does work.
Ah, ok! Thanks! I'll know that for next time. Funny, for years forums went away from allowing direct upload because they didn't want to store the data, so they forced you to host it elsewhere. I think that's why sites like Photobucket got popular. I have always had rpc-electronics.com and ke4nyv.com to use as a "hosting" server for my images, then I could direct link them in forums. I guess I'll go back to uploading at this site.

Thanks, again!
KE4NYV is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-02-2019, 10:19 AM   #14
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,170
Scales Modeled: HO
My only suggestion would have been to use a locking toggle so it could not be bumped inadvertently from the selected position.

These switches use a toggle that must be pulled up slightly to change positions. Commonly found in aerospace applications where switch position is sometimes critical to safety or operations.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 10:32 AM   #15
Dennis461
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Atco, NJ....near the race track
Posts: 891
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 11
options

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelE View Post
My only suggestion would have been to use a locking toggle so it could not be bumped inadvertently from the selected position.

These switches use a toggle that must be pulled up slightly to change positions. Commonly found in aerospace applications where switch position is sometimes critical to safety or operations.
Could use something like this red cover
Holds switch to one position when closed

or the locking attachment
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Z1xAJvpcpEx_.jpg (34.6 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg 1505513.jpg (19.4 KB, 25 views)
__________________
Electrical Engineer: Retired
Former SEPTA Regional Rail Division electrician
Dennis461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 10:38 AM   #16
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,243
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
Locking toggles are expensive and combersome, why not a simple 2-position rotary switch? It won't be "bumped" into a position, and they're dirt cheap. You're trying to make an inexpensive product into an expensive one.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 10:52 AM   #17
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,170
Scales Modeled: HO
Toggle cover is not a good idea. If you've ever seen one of these open in operation, it's worse than the toggle switch by itself.

John's idea is probably the best. Can't be bumped into a different position.

Locking toggles are expensive for a reason. It is an absolute positive control over a circuit that cannot be accidentally turned on or off.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:04 AM   #18
Dennis461
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Atco, NJ....near the race track
Posts: 891
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 11
gunrunnerjohn
"...make an inexpensive product into an expensive one. "

As a former Electric Utility Design Engineer, I resemble that remark!

Michaele
"...If you've ever seen one of these open in operation, it's worse than the toggle switch by itself...."
I have had the cover on a winch controller in my truck for years, it keeps power turned off effectively and is no trouble to use.

Hijack off.
__________________
Electrical Engineer: Retired
Former SEPTA Regional Rail Division electrician
Dennis461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:26 AM   #19
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,170
Scales Modeled: HO
A toggle cover is used to keep from inadvertently turning a circuit on or off depending upon which way it's facing.

In the case you describe, where is the safety feature of accidentally turning off your winch controller while in operation if that toggle cover is accidentally bumped closed?
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 04:40 PM   #20
KE4NYV
Hobo
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 18
It would be very easy to simply mount this behind the bench work, with a window cut out, effectively recessing it, making the switch almost flush with the surface. I have also seen plenty of layouts with a control/interface panel that is set at an angle or up high enough where it's hard to bump into.
__________________
Jason Rausch
RPC Electronics, LLC

Wiring and electronics enhancement products for your layout! Check out our website at: http://www.rpc-electronics.com
KE4NYV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.