Getting stuff lit - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Structures Forum
Forgotten your password?

Structures Forum Share your ideas and creations here, including your latest kitbash or scratch-built creation!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2019, 07:43 PM   #1
Theamazingswal
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Carmel, NY
Posts: 122
Getting stuff lit

I decided to try and get everything lit this winter. I bought 100 3mm & 5mm LEDS. I also order a 16 ft strip of SMD LEDS. I want to lite everything on the layout. That is all the signals, building, passenger cars etc. As the thread moves ahead stuff will light up. I started my first project with a with one of my signal displays. I never really liked the one 12v bulb I used to lite the display so I started thinking on what I needed to do. The below photos are how I went about this. The signal light in on with my RR crossing gates power supply which is 3 volts. There are no resistors.

I noticed something wrong with the project. I'm wondering if anyone else knows what that is?

George

signal_0_10_26_19.jpg

signal_1_10_26_19.jpg

signal_2_10_26_19.jpg

signal_3_10_26_19.jpg

signal_4_10_26_19.jpg
Theamazingswal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2019, 09:35 PM   #2
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,138
Scales Modeled: HO
I believe if the semaphore arm is at 45 degrees the green indicator should be lit. At least on the DB that's the way they are set up.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 09:45 PM   #3
Theamazingswal
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Carmel, NY
Posts: 122
Your very close Mike but not quite right. The yellow position is correct. I use to be a RR engineer so it's clear to me what I did wrong.

George
Theamazingswal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-26-2019, 09:56 PM   #4
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,138
Scales Modeled: HO
The only other thing I can think of, but again it pertains to Deutsche Bahn only, is that the arm would be on the right side instead of the left for an approaching train.

Signals are always on the right side of the track for an approaching train with the arm to the right.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 10:26 PM   #5
Theamazingswal
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Carmel, NY
Posts: 122
Mike I thought this US semaphore was an universal thing but maybe your right it's not. I know on the NH this would be correct but now I'm not so sure about other Railroads. On my signal the green and the red should be switched. I just noticed this today.

George

semaphore.JPG
Theamazingswal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 09:49 AM   #6
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,200
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
With the size of that signal, I have to ask what scale it's designed for.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 11:54 AM   #7
Theamazingswal
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Carmel, NY
Posts: 122
John the scale was decided by the largest hole saw diameter I owned. I needed to cut the colored lenses from some small square pieces of colored plexaglass I had. It's only to enhance the room with some RR display items. I build 3 of these signals. 1 Searchlight, 1 Dwarf and 1 Semaphore.

George
Theamazingswal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 12:21 PM   #8
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,200
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
I figured it was a display, but at first I though you might have had a 7.5" live steam in your yard.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 02:28 PM   #9
Theamazingswal
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Carmel, NY
Posts: 122
That's funny John. I'm retired but there's only so many hours in a day. Golf takes up a lot of my time in the summer and my wife needs a bit of my time. So no yard railroads.

George
Theamazingswal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 05:34 PM   #10
Theamazingswal
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Carmel, NY
Posts: 122
The first project in my lit them up series got done today. My 16 ft SMD LEDS tape I ordered will be here Friday and I'll start lighting up all the building.

George

signal_10_28_19.jpg
Theamazingswal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.