Forum VERY slow - Page 5 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > General Model Train Forum Discussion > Forum News, Updates and Help
Forgotten your password?

Forum News, Updates and Help MTF News and Updates will be posted here. Feedback is welcome. Have a question about how the forum works? Post here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2018, 09:09 PM   #41
teledoc
Super Moderator
 
teledoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 3,007
Scales Modeled: Postwar/Prewar tinplate "O" scale
Images: 13
Vincent, The computer I use is a hand me down running XP. At times, it will give me fits, and run slow, mainly with websites that have excessive add-ons, with graphics. It serves its purpose, and will get replaced eventually. I use my iPad mostly, but switch to the PCwhen I want to post something, where I can type with both hands, faster than the iPad. The other PC’s in our house both run Windows 10, but are laptops.
__________________
"MASTER OF RESEARCH & USELESS INFORMATION!!"

"Prewar Tinplate fanatic”

Newly Appointed "Tinplate Wizard"
"The man behind the curtain????"
teledoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2018, 09:52 PM   #42
Vincent
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico
Posts: 1,766
No problem, Teledoc. XP pretty much does everything except newer, heavy-duty programs. A big-time gamer like me needs Windows 10 for the newer games.
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 10:00 PM   #43
teledoc
Super Moderator
 
teledoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 3,007
Scales Modeled: Postwar/Prewar tinplate "O" scale
Images: 13
I still have my original PC, a 386-40, running Windows 3.11, which I built from parts, be by one, as I could afford at the time. I just need to fire it up, and take my pictures off of it. LOL!!!
__________________
"MASTER OF RESEARCH & USELESS INFORMATION!!"

"Prewar Tinplate fanatic”

Newly Appointed "Tinplate Wizard"
"The man behind the curtain????"
teledoc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 11-30-2018, 10:17 PM   #44
Vincent
Dispatcher
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico
Posts: 1,766
USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by teledoc View Post
I still have my original PC, a 386-40, running Windows 3.11, which I built from parts, be by one, as I could afford at the time. I just need to fire it up, and take my pictures off of it. LOL!!!
Windows 3.11 was our original computer. Man, I tore into those Solitaire games!
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 10:26 PM   #45
teledoc
Super Moderator
 
teledoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 3,007
Scales Modeled: Postwar/Prewar tinplate "O" scale
Images: 13
Oh No, my first PC was an 8088, with 5 1/4” floppy disks, and DOS...ROFLMAO
__________________
"MASTER OF RESEARCH & USELESS INFORMATION!!"

"Prewar Tinplate fanatic”

Newly Appointed "Tinplate Wizard"
"The man behind the curtain????"
teledoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:26 PM   #46
Chiefmcfuz
Dispatcher
 
Chiefmcfuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Westchester NY
Posts: 1,152
Scales Modeled: O/O27 Some HO from my childhood
Images: 9
Trs 80 model 3 with tape recorder attached as the storage.
__________________
I dip my bullets in bacon grease.
Chiefmcfuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 01:36 AM   #47
Magic
Dispatcher
 
Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Reno Nv.
Posts: 1,932
Scales Modeled: HO 1950s Southern Pacific in So. California.
I had one of those "Trash 80s", gave it to my brother in law.
Bought an Atari 512 to replace it. Upgraded that to a 1024 that I still have.

More to the point of this thread, the only slowness I see is that some of the ads take a long time to load,
Waiting for xxxxxxxx.com is what I see.

Magic
__________________
The Magic RR build thread.
New layout starts at page 7.
https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=22525

Last edited by Magic; 12-01-2018 at 02:25 AM..
Magic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 10:06 AM   #48
CTValleyRR
Train Master
 
CTValleyRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: East Haddam, CT
Posts: 8,549
Scales Modeled: HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
A few really good old games. It's 32 bit on a 32 bit computer, allowing it to play 16 bit games, most of which don't run on Windows 10.
Not out of the box, no. But there are plenty of good emulators out there that will let you do it.
__________________
Connecticut Valley Railroad -- A Branch of the New York, New Haven, And Hartford

"We don't stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing." --George Bernard Shaw
CTValleyRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.